Let Me Spell it Out For You

 I was in the store picking up some random stuff and came across the bologna.  I don’t particularly like bologna and wasn’t in the market to buy it but a few isles later I found myself singing, “My bologna has a first name it’s O-S-C-A-R.  My bologna has a second name it’s M-A-Y-E-R.  Oh I love to eat it everyday and if you ask me why I’ll say (hold note with dramatic pause and sing next part way too fast) ‘cuz Oscar Mayer has a way with B-O-L-O-G-N-A!”

This got me thinking a little.  How many songs spell out words in them?  Hundreds I’m sure.  But here are some that I managed to think of on my way home without looking on google:

1.  J-E-L-L-O    thank you Bill Cosby for making jello “cool”

2.  B-A-N-A-N-A-S   Gwen Stephani

3.  R-E-S-P-E-C-T   Aretha Franklin

4.  M-I-C-K-E-Y M-O-U-S-E

5.  R-O-C-K  in the U-S-A   John Mellencamp

6.  B-I-N-G-O

7.  M-O-T-H-E-R  (you know the M is for the many things she taught me….)

8.  O-K-L-A-H-O-M-A

9.  G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S    Fergi

10. W-O-M-A-N   Peggy Lee (talk about a sterotype)

11. B-E A-G-G-R-E-S-S-I-V-E    Faith No More

12. S-A-F-E-T-Y D-A-N-C-E   Men without Hats  (this is dumbest strangest dumbest video)

10 thoughts on “Let Me Spell it Out For You

  1. I forgot about that video — you’re right about how stupid it is…for some absurd reason I still laughed for the full 15 seconds I could stand watching it though.

  2. Please help me — I can’t even spell Saturday and now everyone will know it because there’s not an editing option that I see…lovely.

  3. morethananelectrician: oh yeah I forgot about that song!

    lynnard: the video is totally lame but hilarious. i like when the spastic girl first pops her head up in the video – she takes you by surprise. at least you noticed you spelled it wrong instead of me having to point it out to you. LOL

  4. I love spelling songs. It’s usually the only part of the song I get right when I’m singing it out loud in my car. And I too often find myself singing the Oscar Mayer song when I’m in the grocery store even though I never get anything by Oscar Mayer. I guess it just can’t be helped.

  5. Sarah: I agree. It’s the only part of the song I ever get right too. A few months ago I was driving and passed the actual Oscar Mayer Weinermobile. I was a little stunned and then for some reason got pretty excited. The rest of the day I could not get that song out of my head. Even as I’m typing this I’m finding myself humming it.

  6. Does anyone know the song where V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N is spelled out? I’m trying to find out who sings it and what the title is…

    Please help! 🙂

Leave a comment