ABC…It’s Easy As 123

I finally got my internship assignment today and I’ll be helping out in a 1st grade classroom for this next semester.  I was really hoping for kindergarten or 1st grade so I’m pretty excited about the placement.

To get ready I’ve been going shopping for an entire new wardrobe.  I hate shopping.  I mean I really despise doing it.  As a result 98% of my clothes are more than 7 yrs old, most likely stolen from my brother’s closet, and comprised of ratty t-shirts and work out shorts.  In the winter I basically wear the same pair of sweat pants everyday and throw on a hoodie.  I don’t bother tying my sneakers and wear a baseball hat when I don’t feel like washing my hair.  In the summer it’s much of the same; same pair of shorts everyday, t-shirt and flip flops.  Basically I dress like a teenage boy.

Having to get a new wardrobe was bound to happen and I’m a little surprised, albeit happy, that it took me nearly 33 years to do it.  In the past two weekends I’ve spent somewhere between $400-$450, which quite frankly, is a ridiculous amount of money to spend on what is basically just cloth and thread.  On the other hand, it’s been 33 yrs. in the making so…not so bad.  And even more surprising to me is that I found so many clothes that I liked and actually fit correctly.  Score!

I do need to put a kabosh on further spending as I now won’t have a job for the next four months due to this internship.  Ah well, it was fun while it lasted…well at least it was tolerable.

In other random and unimportant news, I’ve almost reached my book reading goal.  Yes, I really have one of those.  It’s the same goal I’ve had since 2008 – to read 50 books throughout the year.  I only successfully achieved this goal that first year, but 2012 looks to be an overachiever.  I’m currently on book 49 with a stack waiting in the wing to be read.  Success – even if it is in something so minor!

3 thoughts on “ABC…It’s Easy As 123

  1. Too many books…or might I say…too much TV to try to read that many books. But Congratulations on the internship!

    Thanks, I’m pretty excited about the placement! Oh I still watch a lot of TV and will watch even more when the fall season starts back up.

  2. Looking forward to seeing your end of the year books read blog post.

    And congrats on scoring a 1st grade placement…you might want to practice wiggling teeth before you start.

    Thanks! Funny you should mention loose teeth, one kid in our class lost one last week and I’ve forgotten how many others are about to and point them out everyday.

  3. Happy birthday first of all! I am now 30 for the fourth time, too! 😉 I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed for you as well! And congrats on your internship and new wardrobe. Hope all goes well!

    Thank you and happy belated birthday to you!! I wish I lived closer to you to get your input on this internship, I’m sure you would have great advice for me in the classroom. Hope all is going well!

Leave a comment