Am I Already Out of Touch?

I’m 32 years old.  I’d like to think I still have a pulse on what the kids are into these days.  Sometimes the pulse may be a little hard to find like you look over at your great Aunt Mable and she appears unresponsive, so you start performing CPR only to discover she was just resting her eyes half way between a bite of mashed potatoes and peas.  Hard to find or not, it’s there.  For the most part I can turn on the radio and tell you the song and artist that’s being played.  I have an entire IMDB library in my head and can spout off random and completely useless facts that benefit absolutely no one about various celebrities.  I’m so fashion forward I CHOOSE to only wear sweats because I don’t want to induce a frenzied riot in Walmart while I’m buying a gallon of milk and not because I fell asleep in them the night before and figure with a baseball hat no one will be able to tell the difference.  But I digress.

One of my assignments for my c lass in a few weeks is to create a glogster.  That’s glogster with two Gs, not to be confused with globster which is what I kept referring to it as.  Just so you know, according to Wikipedia a globster is “an unidentified organic mass that washes up on the shoreline of an ocean or other body of water.”

(you know it’s real because the picture is black and white)

 

You know what else I learned from Wikipedia?  What a glogster is.  How sad is that?  I’m on Facebook, Myspace, Twitter, not 1 but 2 blogs, Flickr, and probably a whole host of stuff I can’t even remember.  But I had to look up the definition of what a glogster is after my forty something year old professor with no kids told me to create one for class.

Good grief.

4 thoughts on “Am I Already Out of Touch?

  1. I have no idea what that is either…never heard the word! I’ll have to google it.

    Well finding more and more that I’m not the only one who didn’t know what it was.

  2. I’m 34 and this is the first time I’ve ever heard that word. I’d look it up, but it would be more entertaining to have you just tell me right here and now. That’s my way of saying I expect a response to this comment.

    I’m a DJ and have had a radio show on a college radio station for the last 15 years and I have no idea what’s on mainstream radio half the time. I turn it on, and I’m lost sometimes. It just almost all sounds alike to me.

    Basically a glogster is an electronic poster board you make for a class presentation. At least that’s what we’re having to do with it. In addition to photos you can imbed videos on it as well. Or I guess you could make a page all about yourself or whatever you wanted. So far I haven’t heard of anyone else knowing what this thing is. You may not know what’s on mainstream radio but I wouldn’t have a clue what stuff you play on your show. I know because I’ve listened to it and had never heard of the majority of songs or bands you mentioned. It’s kind of weird how you grow out of touch with things that used be so important in your life.

  3. I’m flattered that you would actually listen! Thanks!

    You should post up pics of this glogster when you’re done with it.

    I just might have to. Though the specifics of the page will be boring since it’ll all be about a chapter I have to read on teaching. Here’s for funny, a girl in my class is going to get a tutorial on how to make a glogster page…from her niece in the 4th grade. haha

Leave a Reply

