Book List 2011

Back in 2008 I made a goal of reading at least 50 books during the year.  Of course that was the only year I actually met that goal.  But anyway, here’s my list from 2011:

1.   The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

2.   Little Bee

3.   Winter Garden

4.   No One Can Take Your Place

5.   Think Twice

6.   Love, Lucy

7.   Bossypants

8.   The Truth About You and Me

9.   The Shop on Blossom Street

10.  Thin Rich Pretty

11.  Conspirita

12.  Her Fearful Symmetry

13.  And One Last Thing

14.  Secrets of a Shoe Addict

15.  Man in the Middle

16.  Mrs. Kimble

17.  Swan Thieves

18.  The Hunt

19.  The Beach House

20.  The Lifeguard

21.  The Swimsuit

22.  Port Morturary

23.  The Devil in Jr. League

24.  The Sisters of Hardscrabble Bay

25.  Pop Goes the Weasel

26.  Mortal Allies

27.  Seriously…I’m Kidding

28.  The Kingmaker

29.  Roses are Red

30.  Simple Genius

31.  First Family

32.  Stories I Only Tell My Friends

33.  Jack and Jill

34.  Violets are Blue

35.  4 Blind Mice

36.  Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper Case Closed

37.  The Alchemist

 

So no surprise most of the books are thriller/murder mysteries.  And obviously I discovered James Patterson this year which I’m not sure how I avoided for so long since those are my favorite types of books.

On a happy note, this is the year I graduate…not till December, but still.

5 thoughts on “Book List 2011

  1. How did you like Her Fearful Symmetry? I’ve been hesitant to read this one. And what did you think of Winter Garden? It’s on my TBR shelf here at home.

    Fearful Symmetry had me compelled to keep reading but it was a little strange and kind of hokey in parts. The end had a little twist (if you want to call it that) that I’m not sure if I liked b/c of the sheer idea of it, or didn’t like b/c it was a little creepy and kind of dumb. I’ve read a few books by Kristin Hannah and Winter Garden is probably my favorite one. You don’t like the mother for most of the book but you do by the end and wish you could have gotten to know her sooner.

    Two books from my list you might want to consider are Swan Thieves and Mrs. Kimble. Swan Thieves is kind of long but I thought had a good story that was written well. It’s by Elizabeth Kostova who wrote The Historian (another good book). Mrs. Kimble (written by Jennifer Haigh)is written from the perspective of three women who all marry the same man decades apart and how he basically ruins their lives. I know that didn’t make it sound very good but you really get invested into each of these women and their story with this man who is a con-artist.

  2. You beat me by one, not (as Abby would say when she’s losing) that it’s a contest. Of these, I’ve read #s 1 and 7 for sure…and maybe some of our Patterson books have overlapped. I’ve read several Alex Cross books; but it’s been so long, I couldn’t pick ’em in a line-up.

    Definitely the Patterson books would overlap then because the Alex Cross series is my favorite that he writes and most on this list are from that series. I need to scroll over to your blog and check out what you have on your list.

  3. I love that you read SO much! I’m jealous. And graduation will be glorious and come faster than you think. Enjoy 2012!

    This year I’m determined to read 50…of course it is only the 6th day of the year. But I don’t have to take any classes this summer so that should help!

  4. Yes James Patterson is Amazing ive read his books for years (The woman’s Murder club series are my favorite), ive fallen behind over the last 5 years because of school now that im done i need to make a list of my own!

    When I finish the Alex Cross series I’ll have to look into the Women’s Murder Club. Definitely make a list of your own, hope some of mine helped.

Leave a Reply

