Princess and the Pea

image

It’s interesting that as you get older different types of gifts make you happy.  As a kid, toys were probably all I ever wanted.  This year I liked quite a few gifts and none of them were toys.

One gift in particular were flannel bed sheets.  Nice warm, cozy flannel sheets.  I guess I have to admit I have developed a thing for accessorizing my bed.

It all starts back when I was in high school and thought it would be a good idea to trade in my single bed for a hideaway bed.  It was not.  I of course didn’t realize this until much later.  A hideaway is basically sleeping on a couch.  There is no mattress to pull out, no real room to move, and it creases right down the middle where the fold is.  I guess age must play a part because as a teen I didn’t notice how uncomfortable it was.

Then I moved away from home and slept on the mattress provided by the dorms, the ones provided in Mexico and Guatemala which let’s be honest, were not much more than a thin piece of foam.  And then since I couldn’t afford to move out my furniture across country, the mattresses that came with my apartments.  I could feel every single coil and spring in those.  Those felt so rotten that when I did move my hideaway/couch across country it felt like sleeping on a cloud.  A cloud that went from cumulus to stratus in record time.

Then came the time when I lost my job in Utah and decided to move to Arizona.  I received my severance check and went right down to a furniture store and bought a nice, semi-expensive queen sized bed.  Ahh, the relief.

But like most things we get, I felt like I had to tweak it and make it even better.  First there was the duvet cover that had me sinking into the bed like I was being swaddled in a cocoon.  I then acquired a thin mattress protector pad thing that added just the slightest cushion.  And then a few months ago I bought another mattress pad (I don’t really know what these are called) that you put underneath the bottom sheet.  To top off the whole bed ensemble, I bought a tempurpedic pillow on black Friday that was marked down from $100 (insanely ridiculous) to $25 (still ridiculous for a pillow but compared to $100 it was worth it).

At the fluffiest points my bed comes up to my waist and I have to lift onto my toes to actually get on it.  Is it the prettiest bed?  Nope.  Does it still need a headboard?  I guess.  Should I put one of those skirt things around the bottom so it covers the mattress?  Probably.  But I don’t care.  No more waking up multiple times during the night b/c my back is sore or because I don’t have enough room to roll over on the other side.  Or because my shoulder and arm fell asleep because they were stuck in the crease of that wretched couch.

And now I have flannel sheets to make it extra soft, warm, and perfect.  It’s a wonder I’m able to get up at all in the mornings.  It may not be as high as in the Princess and the Pea, but man I love my bed.  Rather than upward, I may have to start expanding outward.  Grand King anyone?  Yes please.

*the pic looks a little funny but I was testing out how to directly upload from my phone.  Try to do that you preschool pipsqueaks (see post below)

5 thoughts on “Princess and the Pea

  1. You are so right! These days, socks are GOOD gifts!!! And there is nothing like splurging on bed-stuffs when you have sore parts. I would LOVE to get a tempurpedic pillow!!! I have never seen them for less than 80 bucks though.

    I actually did get socks for my sister this past Christmas so I guess they really are a good gift. The only reason I got the pillow was b/c I saw it for so cheap, otherwise forget it. They keep them at ridiculous prices.

  2. I’m with you on the gifts thing. I still love getting video games and stuff but ask for them less and less these days because I know no one will buy them for me. So, I just leave that up to myself. But this year I actually asked for floor mats for my car. I never thought I’d reach the point that that would seem like a good Christmas present, but I really needed some and I’m glad I got them.

    As for the bed thing, I don’t think I’ve quite reached the point where I’m super picky about the type of bed I’m on. I do appreciate a good, soft mattress, but for some reason my old one in my mother’s house that I’ve used since I was a kid is still the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. Maybe it’s all psychological. I’m pretty much a night person and don’t go to sleep easily, but once I do, I’m out. I can sleep like the dead and it doesn’t matter what mattress I’m on. If I’m tired enough I can lay down on the floor with a blanket and pillow and pass right out. But still, I’d rather sleep in something like yours than some of the ones I’ve had in dorms.

    And while we’re on the subject, why do girls/women have to have 38,000 pillows on their dang beds all the time? Is that necessary? Give me 2. Two good ones. And I can ride those same two out for years and I’m good. Anything else is just clutter.

    I used to be able to sleep anywhere and on anything but not anymore. My lower back is slightly out of alignment (whatever that’s supposed to mean) so maybe that has something to do with it? I’m not sure why girls have so many pillows on their bed. Maybe they feel the bed doesn’t look completed without them. Mine weren’t acquired on purpose but they make for good back supports when I want to sit up since I don’t have a headboard. There’s a scene in the movie Along Came Polly where Ben Stiller goes on about placing/removing all the pillows on his bed. It raises a good point.

  3. You know how many minutes a day…I spend getting throw pillows on and off the bed?

    How many?

    Four minutes in the morning, four minutes at night. That’s eight minutes of my life.

    I figured it out. That’s nearly two days of my life a year
    I spent putting pillows on and off a stupid bed!

    That movie is hilarious. And yes, a king size bed is the BEST….especially when you don’t have to share it. 🙂

    Nice! One day I’ll move up to a king size. One day.

  4. Those Mattress foam pad things are like heaven… I need to get one, I am insanely jealous of your comfy bed. Also I’m living at my cousins and she has like 6 fancy pillows that I feel like I need to put on my bed every morning, which sort of gets on my nerves because I don’t even like to make my bed.

    Ah, the pressure of the pillows. Maybe you should just put them in the closet so they’ll be out of sight, out of mind. Then you won’t have to put them on the bed.

  5. Hideaway bed! Assuming you’re speaking of the kind that flips up into the wall, when you’re not using it–I’m reminded of a scene from the film, “The Lonely Guy”. Steve Martin’s character finds his girlfriend/wife in bed with another man. And she couldn’t care less. So he simply flips the bed, with her and her lover, back into the wall!

    I know what kind of bed you’re talking about but this was called a hideaway only b/c it had “storage” under the seat for blankets and pillows. The back of the couch folded down to make the other half of the bed when you slept on it. I’ve never seen The Lonely Guy but you usually can’t go wrong with Steve Martin.

Leave a Reply

