Hold the Onions and Hair Please

Tonight my mom and I swung by Sonic and I ordered a Jr. Delux Burger and some tater tots.  When I got home, I discovered two things about my burger:  1.  The meat was missing and 2. There was a hair where my meat should have been.

I was a little annoyed but didn’t want to drive back to correct a $1 burger.  But then my stomach growled and I really did want that burger, so back to Sonic I went.

On the drive over I was thinking about the situation and what I was going to have to tell them and started to laugh.  Sure it’s gross but to not get any meat on a burger?  Seriously, who gets orders like that?  Oh right, I do.

I pulled in and pressed their little red button and the following conversation happened:

(perky high school girl voice) Welcome to Sonic.  May I take your order?

(my dry sarcastic boss from Office Space voice)  Yeah, I was just here and ordered a Jr. Delux Burger.  It was missing the meat but it did come with a hair.  So… I’d like a new burger.  One with meat but minus the hair.  That would be great.  Thanks.

I would almost pay money to have been inside to hear me say that over the intercom.  Imagining the looks on their faces will have to do I guess.

10 thoughts on “Hold the Onions and Hair Please

  1. I bet they could not give you whatever you wanted to move you along any more quickly.

    Funny stuff–thanks for sharing.

    Thanks for stopping by! Yeah my replacement burger came out pretty quickly. I think the girl who brought it to me was a little nervous at what I was going to say but I really wasn’t upset and besides, it’s not like it was her fault.

  2. Gah. I’m like you; normally I wouldn’t make the drive back for something wrong with my order, but replacing the meat in my burger with a hair would absolutely qualify.

    Now pardon me while I have the heebie-jeebies. *cringes for a few seconds*

    If I think about it too much I start to gag a little.

  3. At least it wasn’t a certain kind of hair. Ew. I think that *might* qualify for a health code violation. But you, brave you, went back for a replacement burger. Sure do hope the second one was hair-free.

    Oh man, if it had been I think I would have boycotted all fast food. Which actually would have done me some good. But no, I went back for another. And yes, it was hair free. I made sure before I pulled out and left.

  4. So you basically ordered a fresh burger from the people who just served you DNA?? You really thought that your follicle sandwich was an accident, and the replacement would be a spit-free booger-free concoction? I FEAR for what you did eat. Fear.

    Basically, yeah. It got a thorough inspection and I didn’t get sick so I’m thinking it was safe.

  5. Yuck. I got a Big MAC once without the meat, which just made it some kind of weird salad with buns substituted as croutons.

    Like “letmestartbysaying” says…I’d be kind of scared.

    haha That’s exactly what it was.

  6. Did you even try the hair? It might have been that Herbal Essence kind – and it could have given you a “special feeling” all over. I’m just saying.

    Uh, no didn’t think of that. Dang it.

  7. Well that’s just gross is what that is. I’m incredibly picky and don’t eat cheese (go ahead, let the hate begin), so when I get a hamburger from a fast food place and find cheese or mayonnaise on it, I just go into a tizzy. I’ve been known to drive back up there and return it because I can’t stand to have any cheese or mayo on it at all.

    Oh. btw, you got yourself a shout-out my recent post that I put up yesterday. You should check it out. It’s all vloggy.

    You don’t eat cheese?? Or mayo?? I rarely add cheese to a burger. Not b/c I don’t like it, b/c…well I don’t know why exactly. Definitely will check that out.

  8. Love that you went back. I had to take a walk down to the hospital cafe when I found a hair in my chicken salad sandwich. So gross.

    That is gross but on the bright side, you are no longer at the hospital and are finally home!!

  9. I think of the part in Office Space when Peter is letting the answering machine pick up all his calls from the boss. That voice over there headsets must have been a trip, if I worked there, I would have chuckled.

    I think if I worked there, oh wait, I did work in a place kind of similar. Oh how I envied them going out and bashing the fax machine.

Leave a Reply

