And the Savings Award Goes To…Me!

Big surprise, I’m not a fan of shopping.  In and out of dressing rooms changing your clothes a million times, people everywhere, prices are outrageous, and for me the worst part is nothing ever fits right.  If the top fits the bottom won’t or vice versa.  It’s frustrating and discouraging so I prefer to avoid it all together.  Except when it comes to hoodies or jackets because let’s face it, you might as well be buying a blanket with sleeves.  As long as it can fit over your head or around your back you’re good to go.

But every once in a while (as in a couple of times a year) I get this weird urge to go out and try it once more.  Sort of  like gambling.  Every so often you get lucky and that keeps you going.  Well, every few years I have a good (ish) shopping experience and it keeps me coming back for more.  This past week the pricing was right and I had to share since it happens so seldom.

Jacket (aka gray blanket.  I really am a sucker for these things) Reg price $30 – isn’t that insane for this little thing?!! Sale price $6:

Bras (sorry no pics): Reg price for bra #1 $34.  Sale price $23.  Reg price for #2 and #3 $23.  Sale price $13

Black skirt: Reg price $40.  Sale price $25

Dress: Reg price $60.  Sale price $30

Shoes: $30

Ok, so the shoes weren’t on sale and they appear to be plain black heels.  But they’re more than JUST shoes.  They can be used as a weapon.  They can be used to dig a tunnel should I ever find myself a prisoner in Shawshank.  And they can be used as a can opener.  They’re like the Swiss Army Knife for the foot.

Now for the math.  Everything at regular price = $240.  Everything at sale price = $140.  A savings of $100.  But wait, there’s more!  I still had gift certificates from Christmas I hadn’t used yet.  Subtracting the jacket, bras, and skirt, my grand total of money spent….$60.  Grand total savings: $180.  And I still have a $50 certificate to a store I didn’t even go into.  And this folks, is why I keep going back.

9 thoughts on “And the Savings Award Goes To…Me!

  1. The skirt/dress/shoes are cute! Where’d you find them??

    Thanks! I got the skirt from TJ MAXX, shoes from Target, and the dress from the Dress Barn. I NEVER thought I would go into that store b/c there’s just something about buying clothes from a place that has barn in the title that makes me hesitate. But in the end it worked out.

  2. Good job! I absolutely love that dress.

    Thanks! I’ve seen those dresses everywhere and always liked them but b/c I’d never worn something like that, I always thought they would look weird on me. But I finally decided I really didn’t care and bought it. And it doesn’t look too bad.

  3. Those are some good finds! Very cute dress!! Bring it if you plan on going to church when you visit (but I’m ok if you happen to forget it…LOL).

    Thanks, I’m happy with them. You crack me up!

  4. Ooooh, sounds like quite a deal! I’m also a nonshopper, especially when it comes to wardrobe. My fashion sense gravitates between t-shirts and long-sleeve work shirts. Jeans are practically my uniform but haven’t bought a pair in years. Thank God for Christmas gifts received!

    There are a handful of reasons why I don’t like shopping and cost is one of them. All of sudden I transform into some premature old person saying things like, “I can’t believe this shirt costs $30. When I was a kid shirts only cost a nickle.” So grateful for the gift cards!

  5. My daily uniform is pretty much jeans and a black t-shirt, but I have a ton of gift cards from Christmas that I have to use at some point. I’m planning a shopping trip in my future and I might even (gasp) get something with color.

    I wear a lot of black and dark brown especially to church for some reason. If you end up getting some colorful clothes you’ll need to post pics or people may not believe you.

  6. Are you inspired to go shopping with me yet? I can take you to that special place in Santa Monica where we both cleaned up!

    You mean the Salvation Army? I remember you buying clothes other places but that’s the only place I remember us both getting things. We’ll see, I have a month to gear myself up for it.

  7. I went shopping on Friday and had a similarly awesome savings/multi-item experience! Also, you just reminded me that I need to buy a pair of “Shawshank escape” shoes. Thanks.

    Hey no problem. I actually think I may need another pair to go with the dress. I hope I don’t turn into one of THOSE girls by buying all these shoes…not shoe shopaholics but you know, ahem, women workers of the night.

  8. Oooh…nice job! I just figured out my finances, and it looks like there might be some extra for shopping!!! Woo hoo…I’m really excited because I really could use a few things. Hopefully I can find the deals like you did.

    I’m sure you’ll find some great deals! If I remember correctly, you have a lot of cute clothes already to use as a great springboard for shopping. I on the other hand, still have a few articles I wore in high school, yes you read that correctly – high school, and continue to raid my brother’s closet for shirts. As much as I dislike shopping, I needed it (and I probably need a lot more)!

  9. Congrats on all the bargain hunting!

    Thanks, and to think I still like the clothes I got and haven’t taken anything back. It’s a miracle.

Leave a Reply

