Field Trip

I thought my school field trip days were long over.  But just this week it was…drumroll please… ZOO DAY!!  I can’t believe how excited I was for this trip but everyday I looked at the calendar and did a countdown.  The morning of, my alarm went off and I layed there and thought about how much I hate alarms and getting up in the morning – which is what I do every morning – and then I remembered, “It’s ZOO DAY” and jumped right out of bed.

Remember on field trips days you could almost smell the excitement in the air when you walked into your classroom?  That’s how it was at the preschool when I got there.  The kids were hyper and kept informing me that they were going to the zoo to see the animals.  According to them, the zoo had every animal from elephants and tigers to cows and penguins.  Newsflash kiddos, the Little Rock zoo isn’t fancy enough for penguins and if you want to see cows you could probably just walk next door.  But their excitement for even just the possibility of some magical wonderment at the zoo was fun to see.

And who could forget the best part of field trips, the sack lunches!  I got sack lunches every day when I was in school but they were extra special on field trip days.  Lunchables, pudding snacks, fruit rollups, juice boxes, and the most important part was the handwritten note from mom.  This has carried over because along with informing me they were going to the zoo, the kids kept pulling out their lunches to show me what was inside.  I however, did not have any “fun” foods or a note from my mom inside mine.  Just two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I slapped together before I walked out the door.  I seriously considered swipping some of the goods from their sacks but in the end I refrained.

Luckily there were almost as many adults that came along as there were kids.  Unfortunately summer is more than in full swing here and it was in the upper 90s with the humidity almost as high.  Surprisingly not one kid needed to go to the bathroom the entire day and as a matter of fact, only one little girl whined and complained.  But they got to ride on the train and the carousel which were some of the highlights.  And for some reason a lot of the kids said their favorite animal was the alligator.  I don’t get why.  All you could see were his eyes as he just laid there in the water.  Snoozer.  The bear at least turned around and looked at the kids when they growled at him.

I got some really good pics of the kids but not so sure their parents would like me posting them on here so you’ll just have to take my word for it.  At the end of the day I was tired, hot, and ready for a nap.  But it was so much fun I hope we go on another one soon – though maybe one with AC next time.

7 thoughts on “Field Trip

  1. Museums are a great idea – but for kids, the whine factor is FAR lower at a zoo!

    I think the hardest part would be trying to keep them all under control and not run around the exhibits. But if you could do that it would be a lot of fun.

  2. How disappointing your mom didn’t put a note in your lunch. ha ha I’m glad you had a good time, but I kept fighting back the thought of ‘man she needs to get out more…’ You know I love ya! You need to let me know what you want to do when you’re here….we need to get you out of preschool mode….although coming to my house isn’t going to help that. 🙂 Hmmm…I’ll come up with something…

    It was a little disappointing but I got over it. haha I do need to get out more I guess but…that’s just the breaks I guess. Although I know a way you can help me with that when I get there LOL. I’m looking forward to seeing your kids and playing with them – should be fun.

    • Oh yes….I can help you out…..someone who like music, sports a few tats…and rhymes with rim…I’m on it. 🙂 LOL. My kids are brats…don’t get too excited. 🙂

      Rhymes with rim…oh, geez. haha I am excited to see your kids, I think they’re pretty funny. Especially your oldest girl.

  3. I love that you get so excited!!! And I love that those hyper kiddos don’t make you crazy. Try teaching 3rd grade for 8 years…the excitement unfortunately diminishes – for me, never for the kids. I guess that’s why I keep going back every year. I do it for the kids. Year #9 – here I come…but not until August!!

    Well it was my first field trip in probably 20 years so the excitement was still there. After 8 years of teaching I’m sure I wouldn’t feel the same. I’ve heard different people say when they go to Disneyland (for example) they love seeing their kids face as they take them to see the characters or whatever. I always thought that would still suck b/c they’re being forced to walk around looking for princesses with all the billions of children instead of going on the more adult rides. But now I can sort of start to see where it could be kind of fun. haha

  4. Why would you wrap your Coke in tin foil?

    Supposedly it keeps it cooler for longer. But that’s a bunch of malarkey b/c it doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

