Rural King Pt. Deux: T-Shirt Edition

Remember when I was visiting my sister in Illinois and mentioned this dandy little store?

Where you can buy anything from school supplies to farm equipment to clothing.  This store is such a small town throw back that they still use their own local form of credit for farmers:

In the last post I told you about the Anti-Monkey Butt Powder and wipes I found on the shelves but today I’m concentrating solely on the various T-shirts Rural King has to offer.  And what an offer it is.

Let’s start with the kiddies shall we?

Ribbons and bows and camo clothes, that’s what little girls are made of. And here I thought I was made of sugar and spice and all that’s nice.  Thanks for finally setting me straight Rural King.

That deer doesn’t look like he fears anybody.  Looks more like he’s crazed and rabid.

I’ll just go ahead and say this now, hunting creeps me out.  I don’t understand it, have never understood it, and I hope I never will understand it.  And I can tell you that no child of mine will EVER wear a shirt like this one.

Let’s move on the the grown up shirts.  Some are for the ladies:

Winning style – head to hoof! Oh brother.  Seriously, why would a girl WANT to be a barn beauty?  What does that even mean?  That you beat out the cows and pigs in a beauty contest?  “It was a close one Ethel but in the end you win.  Ol Bessie just isn’t the same since she came down with mad cow.  Congratulations .”

Wow.  That’s a bit extreme.  Must be some tractor…or some crappy boyfriend.  I guarantee the girl wearing that shirt wears this one as well:

Boys, don’t feel left out.  This one’s for you:

Let’s take a closer look because is just gets better and better:

Hubba hubba.  I’m especially digging the farmer’s tan.

These next few were in the men’s section but I guess could go either way:

I was told there’s some competition between John Deere and Red Tractors.  I don’t know if Red Tractor is the official name of a line of tractors or if it’s just a color war between red and green.  Either way, it explains these next couple of shirts:

Since there are no Red Tractor shirts to be found and John Deere is so heavily represented, I’m going to guess Rural King has gone green.

Don’t think mom’s weren’t going to be represented.  It is Mother’s Day after all.

…Or she might stick you in one of those hunting shirts.

I saved my favorite for last.  In honor of this brand of clothing:

Rural King proudly presents you with this:

I’m not gonna lie.  I seriously considered this one.  And the best part was this was a hoodie and not a T-shirt.  In the clothing world, hoodies are my weakness.  I guess there’s always next time.

11 thoughts on “Rural King Pt. Deux: T-Shirt Edition

  1. “Wow” does sum it up well…it has to be a hard market for T-shirt makers to make their product stand out from the crowd.

    Well these definitely caught my eye. I would love to see someone actually wearing one of these somewhere. I think that would really make my day.

  2. thanks for the chuckle..just goes to prove there are rednecks in Illinois too…lol

    After watching My Big Redneck Wedding, I learned their are rednecks EVERYWHERE. I wish that show was still on.

  3. I LOVE this post! It’s hilarious. Those shirts are really just….. horrible. You should definitely pick one up as a souvenir next time.

    I’m thinking The South Butt hoodie would be the winner. That one just cracks me up. By the way, any chance I can still view your blog?

  4. I Put you on the safe list for 2 crazy girls 😀 But now we are at bffbloggers.wordpress.com I havent figured out how to make my name link to that instead of our old one 😀

    Thanks, I’ll check it out!

  5. Hopefully that store never goes out of business. It is like an indoor garage sale.

    Good call! I hope it doesn’t go out of business either b/c it’s great for blog fodder. I don’t think it ever will, it seems pretty central in the town.

  6. hahaha….what more do you even say??? I am shocked and amazed 😀

    And for this “Winning style – head to hoof!”…wouldn’t wearing this imply that the girl basically views herself as a cow?….hmm…that does not fit with my self-esteem strategy…

    Yeah it’s not something I would want to advertise on my shirt. But to each their own I guess.

  7. I thoroughly enjoyed shopping with you! My husband fears the kind t-shirts I used to wear to bed, and if I had seen any of these I may have picked up some new pjs. 🙂 Love it!

    Thanks and I hope you stop by any time!

  8. Come back and check out the summer T’s…ha! The Red Tractors are called Farmall…or something like that. I’ll have to pay better attention at the next parade!! haha. I can’t believe this is where I live. Help me. Save me. Shoot me!

    haha…in the parade. I shouldn’t laugh b/c it’s not like ours are much better.

  9. This sadly hits a little too close to home. I have a cousin (and a whole branch of the family, really) that would LOVE these shirts. She just gave birth to twin girls, named Scout and Dixie, and buys them John Deer tractor clothes. I only wish I was joking as I type this. They’re the branch that we don’t really want to acknowledge that much. I would chalk all this up to being born and raised in the south, but it looks like this kind of thing is all over the place.

    You should see if Rural King has a website you could order from. Then you would have Christmas gifts covered for your cousin’s family this year. I used to watch My Big Redneck Wedding (hilarious show by the way) and from that show I learned their are people like this everywhere, not just in the south. Right after I posted this, I went to work and one of the preschool kids was wearing a My Daddy’s a Hunter T-shirt. Couldn’t have timed that better.

Leave a Reply

