2009 Book List

The last couple of years I’ve set a goal for myself of reading 50 books during the year.  Honestly I thought I was being a bit easy on myself – 50 books?  No problem.  I got laid off from work exactly one year ago and have had all the time in the world to read.  Did I?  Nope, I re-discovered TV.  It seems I make time to read when I have a full schedule with loads to do, go figure.  Nevertheless, these are the books I did somehow manage to read during commercial breaks in 2009:

1.  Firefly Lane

2.  Ladder of Years

3.  The Book of the Dead

4.  Hypocrite in a White Puffy Dress

5.  The Thirteenth Tale

6.  The Rossetti Letter

7.  The Stolen Child

8.  Daisy Faye and the Miracle Man

9.  Pompeii

10. Secret Sanction

11. The Last Lecture

12. Egnima

13. Lincoln

14. The Bell Jar

15. The Red Tent

16. The Seamstress of Hollywood Boulevard

17. Devil’s Knot: The True Story of the West Memphis Three

18. Scarpetta

19. Evening Class

20. The Crazy School

21. Salamander: The Story of the Mormon Forgery Murders

22. Brimstone

23. Dance of Death

24. My Life in France

25. Freddy and the Bean Home News

26. The Lost Symbol

27. Freddy and the Ignormous

3 thoughts on “2009 Book List

  1. I like the Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child books too. Other than that, I don’t believe I have read the others.

    I read Book of the Dead first and went back to read a few more. Overall I like the series but some of the dialogue is really hokey. I like Patricia Cornwell’s stuff better.

  2. I don’t think I’ve read any of them. However, I have become well acquainted with Hulu and Netflix…

    Yeah I really need to stop watching so much TV and pick up some books already. Some of those on my list are really, really good. You should pick some and tell me what you think.

  3. WOW! I have to say…that’s a lot of words read in a year’s time. I haven’t heard of any of these books, Blue. I’m sooooo ashamed. 🙂
    Maybe I can rediscover what a book is when the kids are grown. ‘ Course by then I’ll probably be blind as a bat and won’t be able to read the words and the large print books will be too heavy to lift.
    I do however love the title of books number 4 and number 27. I think I would read them just because of their funny name.
    ~Scottie

    Freddy and the Ignormous (and the other Freddy book on the list) is actually a children’s series from the twenties. Even though they’re technically for kids, I love them! The stories center around a farm and all the animals on it and the adventures they have. You should check your library and see if you have them and read them to your kids.

Leave a Reply

