Hiccups and Kids

I woke up with hiccups this morning.  I hate hiccuping.  I don’t think they serve an actual purpose, just a way of my body sending me some sort of warning.  I don’t know what it’s warning me against exactly but the idea of being the next Charles Osborne has my attention.  They disappeared pretty soon after I got on the treadmill which is another thing I’m not fond of right now.  I wish I could be one of those people that love working out and do it willingly and obsessively.  But I don’t and I’m not.  Don’t get me wrong, I love when I start seeing results and I even like how I feel right after a workout but it’s getting started everyday that I dread.

Whoa, as I’m typing this I have the TV on and The Wendy Williams Show just started.  Is she really a guy?

wendy

Seriously, is she?  I’ve never heard of her but she has a RuPaul vibe going on.

Last Wednesday night we had an etiquette dinner for the 8-11 yr. old girls I’m a leader over.  It was pretty nice and the girls all seemed to have a good time.  At one point one of the other adults that was there helping out was telling the girls that while they’re really young now, it’s good for them to go ahead and learn proper etiquette.  That way when “you turn 16 and go on a date you’ll know which utensils to use and how to conduct yourselves properly.”  Are you kidding me?  I’m 30 and have never been taken out on a date to a place so fancy I needed to know which utensil to use.  Matter of fact, I’ve found it more helpful to know which value number I want.

In addition to working with these girls on Wednesday nights, I’ve helped a little with all the kids on Sundays.  Each week at least one of those kids says something that makes you crack up.  One week the teacher was asking the kids what makes Sunday a special day.  She was wanting typical church answers like you get to be with family or you learn about Jesus.  One kid in total sincere honesty yelled out that football was what made Sunday a special day.

And this past week one of the teachers told the kids that something really bad had happened this week.  Why she ever said that I don’t know.  Her news wasn’t really bad and even if it was, you don’t need to tell the kids and especially not by prefacing it like that.  But anyway, as soon as she said it some kid (maybe the football kid) said, “Did someone get shot?”  Good grief.  While it was kind of funny because it seemed to come out of nowhere and he was genuinely thinking he had guessed correctly, there is a little girl whose dad did in fact get shot and killed a couple of months ago.  She was thankfully not there on Sunday and the teacher quickly moved on and just told them the news.  Maybe she’ll think twice before prefacing news like that again.

I think that’s enough boring randomness for one post.  Besides, my allergy (I’ve never had allergies before.  One more sucky thing to add to the list) medication is kicking in and I’m finding it hard to focus through my foggy, medicated haze.

6 thoughts on “Hiccups and Kids

  1. I don’t love working out, either, but I’m almost doing it obsessively (well, not today) because I have nothing else going on in my life. And if you’ve never been on a date that had 17 different forks to choose from, then you’re lucky. I feel like such a dumb ass at those places.

    Just start from the outside and work in. Can’t go too wrong with that.

  2. One of my goals in life is to hopefully not be mistaken as someone from the other gender.

    I know you’ve been growing out your hair for the past few months but I think you have a long way to go for someone to mistake you for a female. This Wendy person on the other hand, I don’t know.

  3. Man or woman who knows…I think she’s plain annoying either way.

    She seemed pretty annoying but I really didn’t keep it on the channel long to find out.

  4. I totally know what you mean about Wendy William. Every time I see the commercial I think, “Is this a joke?”

    I only watched the show for about 10 min. That’s about all I could stand.

  5. who is Wendy Williams? I agree totally-a Trans V.
    I hate that show, it took the place of my beloved TMZ…lol

    I googled her to see who she is and I guess she used to be a radio DJ and is known for being a bit controversial with her celebrity guests. Whatever she bugs. I’ve watched TMZ a handfull of times and some of the comments the staffers come up with can be pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

