The Throbbing Testicles

That is the name of my brother’s band that I had the opportunity to see perform on Friday night.  And what a show it was!  Until Friday I had only seen them perform in an acustic show and while it was good, I wanted to witness the full scale, amps turned up, rock out performance.  The night went as follows:

9:00  – Called Robert (my brother) to make sure they were still performing and get a better idea of when they were going to be onstage.  I had absolutely no interest in seeing the two other bands perform.

9:05  – Left house and headed to Little Rock

10:00 ish – Got to Little Rock after a couple of stops. Called Robert because we ( my mom and I) were lost.  Got new directions.  Learned the first band was just starting…they were two hours late.

10:20 or so – Found venue.  Robert just happened to come out at the same time we were driving by and told us that the second band nearly caused a riot inside.  Apparently their gimick is to be controversial to get a rise out of people and start fights.  I really hate bands that do that.  We were advised to stay in the car and wait it out rather than coming in.

11:20 – Finally told the majority of the other band had cleared out and it was ok to come in.

11:40 or so – The Throbbing Testicles take the stage.  I know none of you know my brother.  Crap, none of you really know me but I couldn’t believe the transformation he takes when he gets up there.  He’s a laid back, passive guy most of the time but as soon as he took the stage he completely owned it.  He’s the lead singer and without him the band has no real sustaining life or energy.  I seriously can’t get over how he totally commands the performance.  They’re definitely a band where you need to see the show live rather than just listening to their CD.  Their songs are a little corny, I mean with songs titled “Grandma is sitting on the can so we’ve got about 20 min to kill” what else would you expect?  There are costumes that get worn and my brother is definitely influenced by the mainstream semi-punk almost glam rock bands like Cobra Starship in the way he dresses and even a little in the performance itself.  Actually, now that I think about it I have no idea where his influence in style comes from.

IMG_3487

But the show is so full of energy and catchy little hooks here and there that you can’t help but have a good time.  They’ve developed a small fan base that come to their shows that help to build the energy as well.

12:15 more or less – Their set is over and my mom and I are heading to the car to leave.

12:30 – Drive on a street that passes a lot of clubs and bars and see a guy sitting on a bus bench throwing up.

1:00 – Get home

I was looking through pictures and what not and didn’t go to bed until around 2:30 which was dumb because I had to get up at 6:30 to drive to Memphis.  That little jaunt is three hours each way and going on virtually no sleep pretty much sucked.  I was so tired this morning I grabbed the same smelly clothes off the floor I wore at the concert and even now I still have the pumpkin stamp on my hand.  Here it is midnight  and I still haven’t had any sleep and I’m getting up in the morning to drive to Illinois.  Times like these I feel like an 80 year old woman in a 29 year old girl’s body.

8 thoughts on “The Throbbing Testicles

  1. nice.. that bit about the grandma sitting on the can had me cracking up : )

    Yeah it may be a bit irreverent but it makes me smile.

  2. I think I’m the only one who is yet to see Rob and his band perform. Will they have a set at Christmas when I’m home? Did you happen to make a video? I’m such a bad, unsupportive sister.

    Well, if you say so. I don’t know if he’s performing at Christmas or not. He filmed the show on two or three different video cameras so you can watch it the next time you’re in town.

  3. Looked like loads of fun. I like fun little local bands who have small, loyal followings. There was once one in town called Love Apple that put on the best shows–just fun from beginning to end. I wish they were still around. I like your brother’s fashion sense.

    You should somehow combine their live performances with some square dancing on your part. That’s a video I want to see.

    I agree, local bands are the most fun. Or a non-local band at a small venue where there aren’t too many people. I’ll leave the square dancing to the pros…or at least to the other people in the crowd.

  4. I have to agree with DJ D. Perhaps a rowdy square dance?? If anyone can make it happen…it’s you.

    I am the one that could make this happen it’s true…but no thanks.

Leave a Reply

