A Pretty Crappy Ending

I’m tired.  I’m more than tired but less than exhausted.  I’ve been sleeping on the floor with only a pillow and a blanket for two nights and I have one more to go.  I wouldn’t really call what I’ve been doing sleeping so much as waking up every hour because my arm, shoulder, or leg is cramping from laying on the hard ground.  Thursday night I got about 4 hours of sleep because I was anxious for the moving truck to arrive and worried no one would come to help me load it.  It relatively smoothly, thank goodness, and the truck was gone after about an hour.  Friday night I didn’t get much sleep because the two guys that live below me were having a party and I might as well have been downstairs with them because I could hear everything perfectly.  They partied until 5. Thanks guys.  Then the cherry on the top happened.  I lost my wallet.  The last time I remember using it was Friday afternoon but I didn’t discover it missing until Saturday night.  So I didn’t get much sleep because I was thinking of that stupid wallet and where it was.  And thinking about how my timing couldn’t be any worse because I’m driving across the country tomorrow and not coming back.  I still haven’t found it and I’ve all but given up at this point.  I can only keep my fingers crossed I don’t get in an accident or pulled over until I get home and get a new license.  Not that I want either to happen at all regardless of a license or not.  So I’m tired and have a couple long days ahead of me.  But grasping at the positive this is what I came up with:

1.  I never registered in any other state.  So even though I haven’t lived in Arkansas in five years it’ll be a snap to replace my driver’s license.

2.  I only have one visa debit card.  No other credit cards.  This makes cancelling and monitoring card use easy.

3.  I only had about $3 or $4 in the wallet.  So I’m not out tons of money.

4.  Some guy pumping gas called me a pretty lady.  And this was after a morning of tears resulting in a red, puffy face with no makeup.  Thanks gas pumping guy – that actually helped my morning.

So it sucks but not life ruining.  I’m still tired though.

6 thoughts on “A Pretty Crappy Ending

  1. Ok, losing the wallet sucks. Especially with a cross country drive coming up, but you’re right about all the pluses. And it’s always nice to be called pretty, especially when you feel/look like crap. Sleep will come soon enough. Drive safely!

    It does suck to lose your wallet and for some reason it’s making me feel more on edge. Or maybe it’s just because I’m so tired. I’m just ready to be home and in my bed for sure!!

  2. My checkbook was stolen in October and yes, it was pretty crappy. I’m sorry about all that… but you have a new adventure ahead of you.

    This is true. One more day of driving and the real adventure can begin.

  3. Did you get your card cancelled before money was spent? I sure hope so!! I had my wallet stolen from my OB’s office…(lowlife husband of a pregnant woman). I’m glad you only had the one card though….phew! My debit card surfaced a couple of months later in a mens bathroom in a park downtown. Lovely. It still makes me angry to think about it! Best of luck with the move!!! No speeding!! 🙂

    Seriously? In a mens bathroom? Not good. When I checked the other day no money had been taken out but I’ll have to check again to make sure. And so far no speeding.

  4. Losing a wallet is never any fun! I’m sure you’ll not find it like my brother did (on the minivan rack right AFTER he replaced his license after the long wait at the MVA). Have a safe drive, and hope it goes well (not too eventful)!!!

    Man that’s gotta suck to find your wallet after replacing the license. I just assume mine is gone.

  5. Wow, so sorry to hear that. Hope it all gets sorted out soon. Maybe there’s someone out there who LOVES using the phone and hiking who has it. Along with pictures of you all over his walls…with candles…

    Lots and lots of candles…

    Never found it but made it home and am getting a new license tomorrow so it did end up working out. Hmm, I hadn’t thought about that…

  6. I’m sorry you had a rough time. It can only go up from here! That’s what I tell myself, anyway.

    Everything turned out alright in the end so no real catastrophes thanks goodness.

Leave a Reply

