Won’t YOU Be My Neighbor?

Last week I had the news on as background noise but my ears perked up when the reporter announced breaking news of police in a Mesa apartment not far from where I live.   Apparently they had located a stolen vehicle in the complex and were going door to door trying to find the suspect when they came across an apartment of a man operating a meth lab.  The guy actually answered the door when the police knocked and naturally the smell of chemicals was the giveaway and he was arrested.  Putting aside the complete stupidity of a meth lab or even just using meth in the first place, why in the world would you open the door to anyone WHILE you were cooking it?  Much less to the police?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad the guy was a total moron and got caught but seriously.  How dumb do you have to be?  The report went on to say that based on evidence they found, the lab had been in operation for quite some time and that the police were 1) stunned no one had ever reported or complained of the smell coming from the apartment and 2) relieved that nothing had ever ignited causing an explotion.  Well, that makes two of us.  You know my main concern with my neighbors used to be that they would be quiet and leave me alone.  Now I have to add please don’t blow me up to the list.

7 thoughts on “Won’t YOU Be My Neighbor?

  1. Was he near your actual building? Yikes.

    I don’t know exactly what complex he was in but the crossroads where the same as mine.

  2. Of course these are the people who usually hit on me. I’m surprised none of my neighbors have ever been in the meth business.

    Did they find the person who stole the car?

    They never said if they found the person who stole the car or not.

  3. Oh man, imagine the carnage if his place blew.

    Scary stuff.

    And I think the stupidity may be linked to the drug- I hear meth-heads are dangerously idiotic.

    I can’t imagine how awful it would have been if the place had exploded. It would have been horrific to say the least.

  4. Well, um, oh my God!

    I am sorry you are living there. I am in the process of moving too and I will be sure to keep an eye out for weird smells.

    Actually, that last part made no sense.
    Ha! Sense! Ok I’ll stop.

    Good luck with your move, I hope your eye doesn’t detect any weird smells!

  5. Well, now that YOU’RE the one with the leaky, waxed up eye, maybe you’ll develop some sort of super power as well.

    I’ve been bitching about (and to) my neighbors for a while, but so far the only problem has been noise. I hope they’re not cooking anything up over there.

    My immediate neighbors are actually pretty cool. That is, they’re all quiet and leave me alone. The guys downstairs tend to slam their doors and one of these days one of my frames is going to fall off the wall and break, I just know it. But other than that I can’t really complain.

  6. I actually was expecting to hear the theme song from Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood “Wont You Be My Neighbor”

    LOL

    Yeah that was going through my mind when I wrote the title. Though I doubt the meth guy would be found in Mr. Roger’s neighborhood – maybe in Eddie Murphy’s version.

  7. I bet that guy was thinking: “Man, I could sure use some pizza while cooking all this meth. It will arrive any minute now”. No pizza for him.

    haha Nope. No pizza for him. Note to self: Always look through the peep hole before answering the door.

Leave a Reply

