Little Surprises

I’ve been wanting to write something for a while now but I’ve been in a rut…again.  I’m STILL unemployed which on one hand is kind of nice because I can do whatever during the day but sucks obviously, because I have no money.  So while my day consists of watching TV, reading, and not much else I’ve tried to see what I can make of that for a post.  So here are my little surprises.  Mostly good with a couple that are deserving of an annoyed sigh and eye roll.

I mention that I watch a lot of TV.  Most of it I actually do online which I’ll get to in a second.  Because I’m trying to save a little money where I can, I don’t have cable.  Which means I get about 4 channels.  The other night I accidentally hit the reset button on my remote and bingo, I magically had 7 new channels.  More than double what I had – WHOO HOO!!  That was a nice little surprise.  Especially when I realized one of the channels was ABC and two others play reruns of Friends, The Simpsons, and King of the Hill so score!  Three of them are Spanish stations with plenty of telenovelas and Sabado Gigante.  This would be an eye roll surprise.

Bless the networks or whoever decided that streaming shows online would be a good idea.  And not just current shows either.  I’ve spent the past week watching old episodes of Judging Amy and Family Ties.  I noticed 21 Jumpstreet is streaming and may have to check that out next.

Wednesday night I’m going to a friend’s wedding reception.  I know there have been posts debating the whole registry idea and while I’m not going to get into it I will say I’m against the registry.  I looked at the stuff they selected and thought oh please.  No one is going to buy you the $800 TV or the Ipod Nano you selected.  But the only things I can really afford on their list are the washclothes and soap dispenser.  I’d rather not get them either.  So I fell back on my favorite (and pretty much only) gift I give which is the gift card.  I thought it would be better to put the gift card in an actual wedding card rather than slipping it to them in line.  Who knew wedding cards are almost as expensive as the gifts themselves??  And they all have these lame, sappy poems in them.  Can’t one just say Happy Wedding and be done with it?  Grrr.  While I resisted going home and pulling out my crayons and making them a card, I did settle by buying the plainest (and let’s face it the ugliest) card I found.

Right now I’m reading Lincoln by Gore Vidal.  Honestly I wasn’t sure I was really going to like this book but the more I read the more I like it.  I can’t believe how ignorant I am when it comes to the Civil War and this presidency.  I mean, hello, I am an American for crying out loud.  You would think I would know more about my nation’s history.  So this has definitely been a good surprise.  The reading and liking part, not my ignorance.

Another good surprise?  Re-discovering naps.  I’ve always been one to say “I wish I could just take a nap” but would never actually do it because I knew I wouldn’t be able to go to sleep at night and then I wouldn’t be able to get up the next day, blah blah and the cycle would go on and on.  Well, now it doesn’t matter since I don’t have to get up if I don’t want to.  I’ve been taking 1-2 hour naps a few times a week and am loving it.

And the biggest suprise of the past couple of weeks?  My sister called, invited and payed for me to come out for a visit this Memorial weekend.  Yeah!  A good surprise and definitely one to look forward to.

5 thoughts on “Little Surprises

  1. I had the hardest time getting into “Lincoln” but once I did, I loved it. I’ve stopped going to weddings. Of course 98% of my friends are married so now I get invited to baby showers and I loathe those things. Since I’m not married and don’t know what the future holds, how innappropriate would it be to register myself for a bunch of stuff I want and them send notes to all of my friends? I figure I’ve spent thousands of dollars on people over the years and I’m lucky if I get a thank you card.

    I’m thrilled you’re coming this weekend. I could really use a friendly face to do silly things with.

    Dad said he thought you had told him that you found the book boring and didn’t finish it. Guess not. Registering yourself is a great idea and I should have thought about that before I and everyone else in the family bought me apartment stuff. I couldn’t have gotten it for free. Looking forward to the weekend and I’ll give you a call before Friday.

  2. I guess that naps are an added benefit to not haivng a job. When I lived on the German economy, I manged to learn a lot of German from episodes of Married with Children…mixed blessing.

    Married with Children in German? That would be funny to hear. But maybe I can freshen up on my Spanish and that might come in handy while looking for a job.

  3. You’d be surprised. Mark and I were just messing around when we were registering for stuff. Some things were several hundred dollars, and others just a few. We got something from every price range. And then several hymn books and waffle irons. One of the waffle irons was probably re-gifted several times, because it was really old, and had already been used. Thanks for breaking it in for us, right?!

    You got hymn books as a wedding gift? Seriously? And a used waffle iron? That’s lame. I could tell that neither one of these people have lived away from home before because based on their registry they have NOTHING for a house. I just stick with money. That way they can use it for whatever they want – even if it’s groceries.

  4. I remember when I quit working and managed to get reaquainted with books and TV. Oh how glorious it was. Not like what I’m doing now doesn’t afford me the time to still do both of those things, but I do miss the naps!

    The reading and TV really are awesome. I jus would enjoy it more if I knew when money was going to be coming my way.

  5. I can think of a dandy little surprise that took place tonight. Yes, you know exactly what I’m talking about. 🙂 Send the email…do it….now!! I will be following up on this…and if necessary, sending an email myself. 🙂 Love ya girl!

    We’ll be talking later…lol

Leave a Reply

