Over the Weekend

Last Friday my oldest sister and my nephew flew down for a quick visit before heading on to visit my other sister in LA.  It’s been a little over a year since I had seen either of them and I have to say I was more than a little excited.  They got here Friday afternoon and on Saturday we went to an Aloha Festival that’s held every year here in the valley.  If you’ve ever been to Hawaii this is pretty much like going to the swap meet at the stadium (except here the prices for things were out of control) and then going over to the PCC in the afternoon to watch the outdoor shows.  The performances were phenominal:

img_2869 img_2873

but in addition to seeing the dancing we unfortunately also saw this:

img_0238 img_0343

I’m pretty much speechless in regards to the mullett and as for the bride, there were tons of men dressed up in wedding dresses all over downtown Tempe.  Something to do with the Brides of March.  I have no clue what that is but…well, there you go.

Since my sister and nephew were coming from Illinoise they wanted to spend as much time as  possible in the sun so one day we decided to go on a “hike”.  I write it like that because I think round trip the whole thing was a grand total of a mile…maybe.  But we hiked up to the “A” they have on the side of some giant hill that stands for ASU:

img_2993

We also went to downtown Phoenix to the Science Museum and watched a laser light show that was done to the music of U2.  I’m not an overly big U2 fan but it was still pretty cool – even though it did make me a little dizzy at one point.  Good thing I don’t get motion sick easily.

We also did a little bit of shopping, visited with some friends of my sister, played tennis, went swimming (no, I still don’t have a new swimsuit), and did a little more sightseeing around Mesa.  Yesterday we drove to Blythe, CA to meet Pammy-Girl so my oldest sister and nephew could be on their way to LA.  Blythe is sort of the half way point between Mesa and Santa Monica and the town was pretty much made up of one street.  I wish the visit could have been longer – especially the one with all of us in Blythe but it was getting late and we each had a few hours drive back.  But I have to say I had a great time and to my sister and nephew, thanks for coming and I hope you come to visit me again soon!

8 thoughts on “Over the Weekend

  1. brides of march…ides of march? that was a scary pic.

    I had thought that same thing when they first said brides of March but I couldn’t see any connection other than similar sounding names.

  2. Hoho! That is a serious mullet! I mean, that dude’s not messing around! Guys around here that look like that frequently use the phrase “sumbitch” and say things like “I tell you what” after every declarative sentence. I really want to talk to this guy now.

    The guy in the wedding dress though…not so much. Kind of freaking me out, actually.

    No kidding! I wonder if it’s kind of a Samson ideology for that guy. Since I’m confident that guy is polynesian I don’t think those are the phrases he uses. Though he probably speaks in pigeon which is basically the equivalent. I’m originally from Arkansas and there was a lady I know that always said “I tell you what now” after and before everything and I’ve even caught myself saying that on occasion. And I did buy the swimsuit today and it’s…drum roll please…black. haha I tried on many, in tons of stores and I just got worn down.

  3. Oh, and I just realized something. Regarding the color of this eventual swimsuit you plan on buying one day…I point you in the direction of the URL of this blog. I mean, it’s right there in the name! Now go get it, lady!

  4. Oh, I love when family comes to visit. I have cousins who live everywhere and the think nothing of driving hours at a time (crossing several states) just to visit their siblings or cousins at the drop of a hat. I love family!

    I agree, I love when family comes to visit! All of us are spread out in different states so it’s not strange to have to travel across the country for visits. In three weeks my other sister is coming for a weekend and three weeks after that my mom is planning a trip out here. I’m very excited!

  5. Hey – we had a great time and hope that it won’t be as long between visits in the future. I’m sure I’ll posting after I get back.

    I’m glad you had fun and I hope you had a good time in LA. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  6. Oh man, that bride is totally going to give me nightmares, but it sounds like the festival would be a blast!!

    The festival was fun and that guy in bride drag made it…uh, interesting.

Leave a Reply

