50 Down

At the begining of 2008 I made a goal to read 50 books by the end of the year.  I honestly thought I would be able to do it in my sleep and would most likely exceed this.  I was doing really well until about July when I started reading a book that I found boring but wanted to finish anyway.  It took me almost a month and a half to finish it and when I did I didn’t want to pick up another book for a few weeks following.  I think at one point I was nearly 20 behind my schedule of a book a week but still wanted to reach my goal.  Thank goodness for long airplane flights because I finished book 50 on December 31st as I was flying from CA to Arkansas.  Here’s the list:

1.  The Memory Keeper’s Daughter

2.  Book of the Dead

3.  Twilight

4.  New Moon

5.  Eclipse

6.  Imperium: A Novel of Ancient Rome

7.  One Hundred Years of Solitude

8.  Life of Pi

9.  The Liar’s Diary

10. The Kite Runner

11. The Island

12. Wicked

13. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

14. The Friday Night Knitting club

15. The Ghost

16. Water for Elephants

17. The Witch of Portobello

18. Moment of Truth

19. beneath the Skin

20. Life Support

21. Ashes to Ashes

22. Mistaken Identity

23. The Idiot Girls’ Action Adventure Club

24. Mistress of the Art of Death

25. Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven

26. Postmortem

27. Body of Evidence

28. Blowfly

29. The Big Bam

30. The Alchemist

31. Eat, Pray, Love

32. All That Remains

33. Cruel and Unusual

34. Fom Potter’s Field

35. Cause of Death

36. Unnatural Exposure

37. The Tightrope Walker

38. Thale’s folly

39. Point of Origin

40. Black Notice

41. The Last Precint

42. Ultra Marathon Man

43. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich

44. Trace

45. Playing for Pizza

46. A Christmas Caroline

47. Predator

48. Tuesdays with Morrie

49. The Catcher in the Rye

50. Girls Poker Night

Some of course, were better than I thought they would be and some were worse.  But I think it’s a goal I’m going to hang on to and try again this next year.

9 thoughts on “50 Down

  1. I had that (the trawling through a boring read) experience with a Salman Rushdie book. It’s won so many awards, yes but I have no idea what is going on, that must be because you are stupid, no it is because all the characters have almost identical names and it keeps jumping around all the time and NOTHING IS HAPPENING.

    Anyway, I think the key is to give up and move on! We’re not at school any more!

    Any major highlights in the list? The British Prime Minister is currently reading The Kite Runner. He said it was very sad so far.

    Hey thanks for stopping by! The Kite Runner is really sad and after reading the book I decided that I would skip out on the movie. I really liked The Ghost and Imperium both written by Robert Harris, The Alchemist is my all time favorite book written by Paulo Coelho, Life of Pi by Yann Martel, and if you like sport books both the Big Bam by Leigh Montville and Ultra Marathon Man by Dean Karnazes are good reads.

  2. I read Tuesdays With Morrie this year, and I really liked. I was surprised. I have Catcher in the Rye and Wicked on my shelf to read soon, too. But I was wondering, of the rest of the 50, which did you like the best. PS, please don’t say twilight!

    I had actually read Catcher in the Rye before but it’s been at least 10 years. I didn’t like the Twilight series so that would not be one I would recommend but as for the rest I really liked The Ghost and Imperium both written by Robert Harris, The Alchemist is my all time favorite book written by Paulo Coelho, Life of Pi by Yann Martel, and if you like sport books both the Big Bam by Leigh Montville and Ultra Marathon Man by Dean Karnazes are good reads. Let me know if you pick one of them up and what you think.

  3. The Shadow of the Wind was a book you point me toward and I do not think that I ever thanked you. What a wonderful experience that was…

    Thanks.

    BTW, I met Mitch Albom a couple fo times and even had lunch with him when I was in high school. I was a kid newspaper writer/editor and spent a couple fo hours with him. He is a really amazing guy, but has the biggest ears that I have ever seen.

    That was a really good book and I’m glad you liked it. I’ve read a couple of Mitch Albom’s books and so far I’ve liked his writing. I read the back cover that told a little about him and he seemed like he would be a really interesting person to talk to. He probably has a lot of stories he could share. That’s cool you were able to hang out with him for a few hours.

  4. We happen to share these four books in our list:

    One Hundred Years of Solitude
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
    The Alchemist
    Tuesdays with Morrie

    The latest that I have read is One Hundred Years of Solitude. I finished it just this December. I would say that my favorite among the four is Tuesdays with Morrie. Have read it 3 years ago.

    The Alchemist is my favorite book from Paulo Coelho followed by Veronika Decides to Die and 11 Minutes. The rest of his books were kind of occult for me though….

    Coolwaterworks

    Tuesdays with Morrie was a really good book. One that I might have to read again sometime. The Witch of Portobello was written by Paulo Coelho and that’s the one that took me forever to get through. I loved the Alchemist so much that I thought this would be somewhat similar but…I dunno it just wasn’t. I’ll have to check out his other books you mentioned.

  5. Incase he hasn’t told you yet, you should know that Tony loved the Ultra Marathon Book. He read it right away and then loaned it out to Calvin who is reading it now!! Awesome gift. Great goal…does reading 50 Disney books count for anything? 🙂

    He did send me an email saying he had read and enjoyed it. Glad to hear that he’s passing it along! You should read it when you get it back. And yes, I think Disney books should count! Some of the best lessons and stories are found in those books.

  6. All these books look vaguely familiar to me for some reason. Can’t quite put my finger on it. Anywho, I think I just proved myself right…hope you believe me now 🙂

    Well, I believe that you logged on and read my blog today yes. Before that…hmm, I don’t know. Regardless, I hope you’re not a stranger and come back and leave a comment again soon. And actually I did believe you last night because I have an idea as to which blogs you were referring to even though you couldn’t recall them quite right. But it was much more entertaining to put you on the spot and watch you squirm a little. Sure, that might have been a wee bit rude but remember, you almost killed us so…I think it was fair.

  7. Wow, I love that you did it! Just the fact that you kept track of all of them may be the part that’s beyond my abilities:) I just read Book of the Dead and I’d probably give it maybe 7 out of 10 stars. I’m so glad you didn’t like Twilight – lol – several friends are reading it but it’s just not my style.

    Well I may have done it last year but I’m already behind this year and am going to have to play make up. For Christmas I got another book called Book of the Dead by someone else so we’ll see how that goes but the one I read last year was pretty ok. I like all of Patricia Cornwell’s books (her earlier ones better than the more recent ones) and I just noticed the other day that she’s written another one – just when I thought I had finished her series!

  8. Good for you! That’s cool that you finished your goal on the 31st. Glad you enjoyed Ultra Marathon Man. I just finished his new book. Another winner. 50 Marathons 50 States 50 Days.

    I’ll have to check out this other book you speak of. If it’s anything like the other one it’s bound to be good.

  9. Maybe you covered this in a response to a comment and I didn’t see it…but which book was the really long, boring one that set you behind schedule?

    The Kite Runner is my 2nd favorite book (only behind P & P). I like the early Kay Scarpetta books, but I could not get into The Life of Pi.

    Congratulations on your accomplishment!

    The Witch of Portobello was the one that took me forever. It’s not that long of a book I just lost interest. Which is odd because The Alchemist is my most favorite book and they were written by the same man. I liked The Kite Runner but it was also sad and heavy. I really liked The Life of Pi as well and am sorry to hear you couldn’t get into it. And I agree the earlier Scarpetta books are better than the later ones. I just noticed she came out with another one at the end of 08 and I feel I have to read it just because I read the rest.

Leave a Reply

