Christmas Cookies

I went ahead and got a jump start on the holiday baking this year and spent the whole weekend making cookies and fudge.  And let me tell you, I’m glad it’s over.  I love the idea of making goodies for people.  I love giving them away.  I don’t even mind the actual baking.  But I HATE the decorating.  So tedious and boring.  Decorating 5 dozen cookies takes longer than I would like and I was so grateful fudge only takes 10 minutes.  I had planned to take pictures of  different stages of the baking process but of course, I completely forgot until the end when I was starting to arrange the plates.  But don’t they look good?  I hope they tasted as good as they looked!

s5030775

11 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

  1. I had more than a couple of these…pretty darn good. The fudge was even good…and I don’t really care for fudge all that much. So, thanks!

    Good I’m glad you liked them. I ate a piece of the fudge but didn’t get a cookie so I’m glad to hear they turned out.

  2. What in tarnation has come over you? Who are you and where’s my sister???

    I don’t know what’s going on. Maybe I’ve reached a new level of extreme boredom.

  3. What is happening to you? You’re VOLUNTARILY making goodies and you HATE doing that. I’m a little more than freaked out by your behavior. Pleasantly surprised but freaked out nonetheless.

    Yeah I don’t know what’s up. Maybe it’s a one year thing.

  4. They looked great! Way to go! What’s next??

    Next? Um, not sure. I think I’ll take a break from baking for a while.

  5. Those look so good!

    I’m the opposite of you. I hate baking. I have never been able to bake cookies with jacking them up somehow. I wouldn’t mind the giving them away if I wasn’t afraid of somehow poisoning someone. But I would love the decorating part. Quite a shame we don’t live closer to one another so we could work out some kind of deal. 😉

    That’s what my mom says too. Her favorite part is the decorating. It is too bad we don’t live closer b/c that would be a perfect trade off.

  6. Those look amazing! You are so domestic. 🙂 I also like the decorating part better, mostly because when I bake I actually just burn.

    Thanks! You may feel different about the decorating once you’ve done it for a few hours straight.

  7. Alright…you bake them, Sarah will decorate them, and I’ll do the eating of them!
    Those cookies look soooo good. This would never be possible at my house. The cookies would be weird shaped and they would never make it to the ‘decorating’ stage cause the kids would have eaten all the fix’ins by then. And forget about the fudge ever making it to the oven…

    🙂

    I’m thinking about re-arranging the plates so I can actually eat one or five of them. The fudge only takes about 10 min. to make so maybe you could get it done before the kids take over.

  8. That is a TON of decorating – I hate that part too! Your cookies looked great.
    I loved reading the recent posts – way to go on the 5 mile run! I loved seeing pics from your mission. Doesn’t it seem like a lifetime ago? You were so cute (you still are) – it just made me want to hear more mission stories from you.
    Great moab pics.
    Hope you have a great holiday season – hope you don’t eat too much fudge – well, go ahead, just run 10 for that 🙂
    angel

    Hey you! It was a lot of decorating and I’m glad I did it early. In some ways the mission does seem like forever ago and in some ways it seems like it was just yesterday. Weird how that works. Hope all is well with your family!

Leave a Reply

