Fashion Friday

Not really a fashion Friday more like another random blog entry but I like the sound of ‘Fashion Friday’.  Sounds like I might be sheik, into the know with couture.  But if you’ve been reading this blog for a while you then you should know better.  Matter of fact I probably just misused that word.  However I did just buy a new jacket a few weeks ago.  I had a gift certificate and the jacket was the only thing in the store I liked.  Plus the only other ones I have are either full on winter coats that make me look like the Michelin man or are sweatshirt hoodies.  So without further ado here’s a picture of the jacket:

img_1352 img_1354

So my first thought when I put on the jacket was “Wowzer I look good!  (and check out my mad glamour shot skills! HA!!) This is like a more feminine biker jacket.  Now I just need a bike.  Hmm, there are some bonafide hotties that live a few apartments down from me that have bikes (mischievous thoughts brewing in my head).”  But then I remembered that I’ve never been on a motorcycle and would most likely fall off so maybe I should start with a ten speed.  The more I look at the jacket the more I see a modern take off the infamous Beat It jacket or when zipped up completely I have a strange urge to say “Houston we have a problem”.  Only thing missing is the space helmet and the American flag patched on.

Now that I’m looking at the picture I’ll make mention of the shirt I’m wearing.  That little gem was $10 at Target.  Man I love that store!  It says ‘Ireland ’88 Rugby Championship’.  It means nothing but I like it.  Actually I dated a guy that played Rugby and come to think of it, I think he went over and played in Ireland.  Not in 1988 of course but still.  Crap, I think the shirt is now tainted.

This afternoon I’m going with a friend hiking and to take pictures.  I guess she discovered some new trails we want to check out before the weather gets too bad and the fall colors disappear.  I’m glad about this because 1) it means I have plans 2) it gets me outside taking pictures and 3) it means I have a legitimate excuse to not go running and not feel guilty about it.  The past couple of days I managed to kick it up a notch to 4 miles and I’m more than happy to take a day off.  I also started back up doing crunches.  I hate those!  And so far, my body isn’t a fan either.  I have to bribe myself with a treat to get me through them.  Yesterday it was with pumpkin cheesecake.  I really have no intention of following through with my self-bribes but if it works on getting me through the crunches then I’m happy.  I seem to get distracted at night and forget about the treat so all is well.  Imagine, if I can keep this up if I have kids I’ll be able to get them to do what I want, then distract them so I don’t have to follow through with whatever I bribe them with.  I will be a genius.

Cripes it’s a week into November already!  Where has the time gone?  Back in January I made a goal to read 50 books this year.  And you know what?  I’m about 10 books behind.  I can’t seem to catch up try as I may.  But I still have about 8 weeks left so I’m not ready to throw in the towel just yet.  But holy moly, that’s 18 books in 8 weeks.  Dr. Suess counts right?  Ok, well I have a window of time here at work with nothing to do so I think I’ll log off wordpress and pick up my book.

9 thoughts on “Fashion Friday

  1. LOVE the glamour shot!! Sorry to say you’re missing the purple eye shadow and feather boa though. Bummer. That would have been fantastic!! Cute jacket though…and I see what you mean about the girls. LOL. I am hilarious.

    Hmm, well I have a purple boa at home. Maybe I should take some pics with that on instead. I really like the jacket and glad I went ahead and got it.

  2. so cute! Love these shots…you are just a few zippers shy of a michael jackson video!

    I used to play rugby when I lived in England. *this random fact brought to you by my brain without enough coffee*

    Too bad the jacket was in Beat It and not Thriller. I like that video a lot more. Though I can see myself as a pseduo gang member dancer. Rugby is a rough sport! I both cringe and thrive off a hit.

  3. That is some ambitious reading! I joined a book group so that I would be forced to make time to read a book each month, but the group just decided to do it only every other month. Why? Because no one else was reading the books. It’s like Relief Society meetings all over again. I think I should find another group!

    I really like to read so it started more as a curiosity as to how many books I might read in a year. Then I just set it as a goal to read 50. That kind of sucks about your book club and you’re right it does sound like Relief Society meetings. You should definitely find another group to join.

  4. Cool jacket – you look good in everything really! And yes Dr. Suess should definitely count! 🙂

    Thanks and I agree. Dr. Suess should definitely count!

  5. I think someone deserve props for getting you to buy that sexy jacket. Who could that someone be, I wonder???

    My mileage had gone right down the toilet since I haven’t run in 3 weeks, but crunches? Minimum 300-400 a day easy. Have no problem doing crunches… probably my favorite portion of the gym.

    Well aren’t you and your crunches just super special. And yes you do get props for the jacket.

  6. I love the jacket!!!

    I literally just did the girl squeel. I’m not proud. But I still really love the jacket.

    Yeah! Thanks for the girl squeal!

  7. I love that jacket! It’s amazing. Very chic (sheik). Also I am impressed with the Target T-shirt. I also love Target a great deal, and you can never have too many t-shirts.

    Thanks! I have quite the number of t-shirts from Target. I just can’t help myself!

  8. Dr Suess counts…. May I suggest another book? Try “Angela’s Ashes”. The wit in this book is refreshing…. 🙂

    And by the way, I noticed that you really like to pout in most of your portrait shots… I think it hides your beautiful smile… 🙂

    I’ve heard of Angel’s Ashes but never read it. I’ll have to go check it out, thanks for the suggestion. I’m not one to smile much in my photos. I tend to be overly critical so I prefer to make silly faces. Plus I think they’re more fun to look at.

Leave a Reply

