Pumpkin Pie

Saturday I went over to a friend’s house and we decided to make pumpkin pie from scratch.  As in we cut up a pumpkin and boiled it.  I’ve never seen that done, much less done it myself and I was surprised that it was super easy to make.  I’m beginning to think everything is easy to make and I’ve just always thought food was hard because I never bothered to learn.  Anyway, pumpkin pie is my absolute favorite type of pie and now I know the mystery of how it’s done.  Of course I’ll probably stick to store bought.  And yes, Pammy Girl I already know you think Pumpkin Pie has the consistency and taste of vomit – but boy are you missing out!  And as I was cutting it up I noticed how much the pieces looked like cantaloupe and thought that would be a hilarious prank to pull on someone someday.  Consider yourselves warned.

20 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. I’m all about pumpkin pie and making things from scratch. Personally, though, there are some things that are just as good and less of a headache when they come prepackaged. Like salad. To me, cooking up a pumpkin is a little too much work. I’d rather just use a can of Libby’s pureed pumpkin. The recipe on the can is fantastic, and I don’t feel like I’m totally chinching out, since I make my own crust. But kudos to you for trying it, and for the success of your pie.

    Thanks, next time I’ll try from a can. I don’t think I’ll be making pumpkin pie like this again anytime soon.

  2. Impressive! Making things from scratch and me do not go together very well. Actually me and making things from a box don’t even go together very well, but that pie looks amazing!

    It tastes pretty good if I say so myself. It was really easy to make so I’m sure you could pull it off.

  3. Thanks for the posting. Now Mark wants me to become domesticated and make him a pumpkin pie. I think I’ll just go buy one while he is at work, and then tell him I made it!

    Funny thing is that even though it tasted really good I kind of prefer the store bought or out of a can better.

  4. Now you need to tackle sugar cookies! (you can skip the fondant and divinity, though)

    Ironically I called mom last night and got the recipe for sugar cookies and I’m going to try making them this weekend. They don’t sound hard and I’ve seen mom do it a million times so I think I’ll be alright. Fingers crossed anyway.

  5. I didn’t know there were still “pull-out” cutting boards anymore.

    I am not a fan a pumpkin by beause it looks like sweet potatoes and I have a bad enough sweet potato story that looking at pumpkin pie makes me ill!

    I’m not a fan of sweet potatoes either so I guess it’s good I already liked Pumpkin Pie before you pointed out the connection.

  6. I’ve never made it that way. Just use the can and go from there. Glad you had fun! Yummy pumpkin pie…. I love autumn!

  7. as for sugar cookies, if the dough gets too warm (as you’re rolling it out) then you have to stick it back into the fridge to cool it down so you can reroll it out…otherwise it’ll just not work out very well. And get the same thickness so that they’ll cook evenly (too thick and they’ll be super puffy with hard/dark edges). Good luck with sugar cookies, they’re fun!

  8. Ooooh, looks good. I’m going to try my hand at pumpkin soup, I hope it turns out to be easy, or at least any kind of non-disaster.

    Good luck with the soup, I don’t think I’ve ever had pumpkin soup before.

  9. It looks really good, and I’m sure it was fun to make but I usually only want one piece and I’ve discovered that while my husband trusts that I won’t poison him (fool) the rest of the family(ies) don’t.

  10. I want one of those cutting boards!!!!! I used to have one a long, long,long,long,long time ago and I miss mine.

    Did you cook enough pie to share with everyone? Hmmmm, missie?? It sure does look good.

    My hubby loves pumpkin pie…maybe I should try and make one from scratch…..Ha, ha yeah right.

    Actually the pumpkin was so big it made three pies plus had a little left over. I think my friend was going to make cookies with it. The cutting board is nice and I wish I had one of those at my place.

  11. Pingback: It Tastes Better Hot… « N*ked On the Roof…

  12. That’s incredible! You made it from scratched? I don’t think I have ever had any pie made from scratch. I’m impressed.

    It wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be. And while it was really good I still prefer pumpkin pie from the store or a can.

  13. This is great! I love learning how to make things. Once I made an apple pie from scratch, to include rolling out the dough and cutting up the apples. It was a ton of work, and the result was good, but it tasted a lot like the kind you get from Mrs. Smith in the freezer aisle. So I probably won’t be doing an apple pie anytime soon. But I LOVE homemade pumpkin.

    I had a roommate a long time ago that would sometimes make apple from scratch and tasted delicious. The pumpkin was good but the store bought it easier and I kind of prefer it to the one I made.

  14. mmmmm, pumpkin pie. I like cantaloupe too. Just sayin’

    Btw, did you roast the seeds too?

    No we didn’t roast the seeds. We just put them in the trash.

  15. Looks absolutely divine! Did you make the crust from scratch too?

    You’ve inspired me to attempt a pumpkin cake tonight for my dad’s b-day tomorrow.

    No, we didn’t make the crust from scratch. We were too lazy for that. You’ll have to let me know if you made the pumpkin cake and how it turned out.

  16. Pingback: A Thankgiving repost « N*ked On the Roof…

  17. Pingback: It Tastes Better Hot « Ignore the Buckles on My Jacket

Leave a Reply

