Giving Blood

I have an announcement: I am no longer a blood donating virgin!  Whoo hoo!  I have no idea why I’ve never donated blood in the past but for one reason or another I hadn’t until today.  Every few months our company has a blood drive and on the spur of the moment I went over with a co-worker.  Since I had not previously scheduled a time I wasn’t sure they would be able to squeeze me in.  I answered all the questions (except I couldn’t remember my cell number.  Hello?!! I think I gave them the wrong one – oh well), had my finger pricked, and had a needle inserted into my arm.  No biggie.  After about 10 minutes I was sent on my way with orange juice and Oreo cookies.  I feel absolutely fine, just slightly tired but I don’t know if it’s because of the blood giving or lack of sleep.  Which is more than I can say for my poor co-worker who’s nauseated and I’ll probably be giving him a ride home pretty soon.

15 thoughts on “Giving Blood

  1. Rock on! Feels good doesn’t it? My wife has a rare blood type and gives all the time. Every once in a while she’ll get a call from the hospital asking if she will donate as they are running low.
    I used to give all the time but recently found out that I shouldn’t because I served in some third world country while in Special Forces. (There is a list of banned countries)

    Thanks for the post. Maybe it will inspire other people to GIVE of themselves (literally) instead of THINKING of themselves.

    Peace,

    Adam

    It was so quick and easy that I’m going to be sure to give whenever I can. I’ve lived in a couple third world countries as well but none of them were on the list. I was kind of surprised by that. I hope others realize that it’s easy to give blood but means so much to someone else in need. And thanks for stopping by and I hope you become a frequent reader here.

  2. I give every year. I started giving when I helped run a blood drive when I was a Boy Scout (stop laughing!) and I try to make sure I go once a year. About two years ago, I embarrassed myself pretty badly when I decided to get up too quickly and woke up on the floor surrounded by all the blood techs. I had a big knot on my forehead where I guess I had face planted. Ah, the joy of cold tile….

    There’s a lot of good that can come from being a boy scout…or so I’m told. Thankfully I didn’t pass out or that might have scarred me for life from donating blood.

  3. The last time I gave blood, I became a little light-headed, so they gave me some nutter butters. Let’s just say that my symptoms appeared to stick around longer than they actually did. I mean, hey, free nutter butter peanut butter sandwich cookies!

    I’m not really a fan of nutter butters but free cookies are always a good thing. I almost took another package of Oreos but stopped myself at one. *sigh*

  4. Nice job! Way to help out! I have another comment for you, but I will email it….because I’m not sure you’d want me posting it on here. 🙂

    HAHAHA!! Yes, thank you for not posting the other comment on here. The funny thing is that I thought the exact same thing and my second thought (no lie!) was I bet Leigh says something about that! I’m telling you we are the same person.

  5. I’m one of those who doesn’t give blood. It’s not that I’m incredibly selfish, it’s just that I’m anemic. and my doctor said it’s not a good idea for me to give. I’m impressed with you, though. Even your neon green bandage is cool. I am a believer in giving back in any capacity and am a huge fan of service. What do we live for if not to make life better for others?

    Yeah I liked my green bandage too. Even though you can’t give blood, I’m sure there are other things you can do.

  6. Hey – now that you know it doesn’t affect you much, you could go back to your money making idea of donating plasma and give AND receive! 🙂

    This is true but at least with blood giving they ask if you’ve donated plasma within a certain time frame and you can’t give blood if you have. I don’t know if it works the same with plasma.

  7. They won’t take my blood. I ate ground beef in the UK between 1992 and 1996, which makes me a prime candidate for “Mad Cow” disease.

    Which I didn’t know until I tried to give blood in Dec of 01 (9/11 and all that). Which sucks because NOW I’m terrified of having Mad Cow disease.

    SO…bravo on the giving of blood, you are a generous servant of your fellow (wo)man.

    Well that sucks that you might have mad cow disease…I’m kidding. I saw that on the list of questions and but since I’ve never been to Europe I didn’t pay a whole of attention to it. Though thanks to watching an episode of House, I recognized Mad Cow Disease by it’s “official name”, Jakob something rather. Yay House for making me appear smarter than I am!

  8. Good for you! At least you didn’t have those ear popping events like I do before the smelling salts come out. Yikes.

    Oh gosh that would have sucked!

  9. They won’t let me give blood. I try and try but they see me coming and kick me out of the line. Apparently, I have low blood pressure or something or low iron count. Maybe it’s because I’m special. All my friends get to have cookies and soda, but not me. *sigh*

    The last time hubby gave blood, he puked (badly) everywhere.Yuck!

    That’s too bad you aren’t able to donate and that really sucks your husband puked everywhere. My co-worker was pretty sick afterwards but I was fine. My arm is slightly bruised b/c not only did I give blood yesterday but did a physical for benefits at work and they drew a little blood the day before. Small price to pay though.

  10. Are you sure you just weren’t hungry and thirsty and found a way to get some free treats?

    That is entirely possible. I hadn’t eaten breakfast and didn’t have a clue what I would be eating for lunch. And I’m always up for free food especially if it’s cookies.

  11. I gave blood one time and I got so sick that I had to leave work early. I was tired, I was nauseated, and I was FREEZING. I went home and went to sleep and woke up about 20 hours later. I decided that it was great to donate once, but I probably won’t do it again. 😦

    I love House.

    That’s sucky that it made you so sick! Interesting though. I wonder why it makes some people so incredibly sick and doesn’t have any effects on someone else.

  12. Yeah! I actually love to donate my blood. I try to do it as often as I can… in fact I think I might be due to go in soon. The first time I tried to do it I ended up being anemic though… now I just swallow an iron pill the morning before I go… don’t know if that even really does anything, but I haven’t been anemic since. Who knows? Nice choice on the green bandage by the way.

    Whatever works for you is good. They didn’t say anything about my blood and I forgot to ask my blood type. I’ll have to remember that the next time I donate.

  13. I’m still a virgin… blood-donating-wise. Since I pierced my eyebrow and ear-lobe, I probably will have 2 wait a couple of years before the hospitals let me (IF they let me… they’re sticklers when it comes to body modification and blood donation) take a swing at it. Good 4 U!

    Oh yeah, I remember reading about piercings on the rule page they give you. It’s been a long time since I pierced anything so I was good to go.

  14. Good for you. Keep it up. I’ve never gotten a green bandage like that before though. Just learned I am a “Rare” blood type (1 in 1000). I give every 56 days. One time while sitting and having my oreos the volunteer’s eyes grew wide and he was pointing at my arm. It had started bleeding through the bandage and was running down my arm, shirt, and pants, and I looked like something out of a chain saw movie. Things happen. I had to stop at the grocery store on the way home and boy did I get some stares. Congratulations and keep giving.

    Well I would bet you would get some stares with dried blood everywhere. You could have had some fun with that. I forgot to ask the lady what my blood type was so I still don’t know. Next time I donate I’ll have to ask.

  15. i am a total supporter of giving blood. im 17 and donated for the first time just a few days ago…the lady completeky missed my vein and it took 10 minutes of pain and 3 doctors diggin around in my arm with the needle and it hurt really bad but i still feel good about donating and i will probably donate again in the spring 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re still wanting to donate after the problems you had your first time. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

