Catch Up

Get this, I actually had something to do this weekend.  Real plans!  Friday night I got a call from a friend to see if I wanted to go bowling with her and another girl I didn’t know.  I love bowling so of course I was up for it.  You never know how it’s going to be with new people.  Especially when there are only three of you and two of you don’t know each other.  Is someone going to be the third wheel?  Are you going to have enough in common to have a good conversation?  You just never know.  I had no need to speculate because this other girl was totally cool.  Very funny and sarcastic (in a funny not annoying way) and fit right in.  And I kicked their trash all three games.  This really doesn’t say much about my game but just how much their’s sucked.

Saturday I had plans to go to southern Utah and watch a pageant of how the town was founded by the pioneers.  In case you don’t know, people in Utah are pretty serious about their pioneer heritage.  I was a little nervous about this activity because I really only knew one person that was going in the group.  And I must admit that it started kind of rocky for me and I was desperately trying to think of any excuse I could to get out of going and go back home.  We had to divide and take two cars and I ended up in a car with one other person who is definitely not a talker.  Awkward!  I will say the guy I rode with is very nice just extremely shy and it was kind of a challenge to carry on a conversation.  Especially since I’m not usually good with talking to people I don’t know.  But I persisted and though he may have been wanting me to shut up, I continued to pelt him with questions because I didn’t want to ride almost two hours there and back in silence.

Unfortunately the weather was cold and rainy and the pageant was outside on uncomfortable bleachers.  But at the end of the night or rather the next day when I thought about it, I had to laugh.  Taking into account the awkward conversations, the rain, the wind, the semi-bad food, the incredibly cheesy pageant script, it was pretty funny.  And of course this kind of a experience would happen to me my first time out with a new group of people.  But most importantly, I got to meet and hang out with some new people and having new friends is always a good thing.

Sunday I was talking to a friend for quite a while about a situation he was in and he asked me for some advice.  Later that night I was so bothered by the advice I had given I couldn’t fall asleep.  I remember looking at the clock at 12:30 and I must have finally fallen asleep because I woke up at 2:30.  Instantly I remembered the bad advice I gave and couldn’t go back to sleep.  So I got up and started writing out notes on what I should have said to him.  I never did go back to sleep and instead went to work an hour earlier than usual and tried to function on my two hour nap for the day.  Once I got to work I immediately sent him an email with the new advice and for my part, felt much better.  Not that my advice was so vitally important that he was going to follow it, but I still felt like I needed to correct myself.

It turned out to be a day for advice and using me as a sounding board because two other friends I spoke with yesterday had issues and frustrations they were trying to resolve.  I’m glad they trust me enough to confide in me but I also couldn’t help think “you do realize I’m functioning on a two hour night’s sleep right?”  I hope it didn’t show – at least not too much anyway.

Last night there was a church activity that I was not planning on going to.  There’s one every Monday night and I’ve only gone two or three times in the past year.  It’s just not my thing.  I always feel awkward and uncomfortable when I go.  But it was a barbeque so I figured I would go and at least get some free food.  I made some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and was in debate about taking them because the last time I took a dessert there was an entire table full and mine wasn’t really needed.  But I figured they weren’t going to turn it down.  It’s dessert afterall, who’s going to say no to that?  I’m glad I did because someone had brought a package of Chips Ahoy cookies and that was pretty much it.  And you know what?  The activity wasn’t that bad.  Because I had just been with and met a few of them on Saturday at the pageant I didn’t feel uncomfortable being around them last night so I was really glad I went.

That’s my rambling catch up from the past weekend.  Now if I could only catch up on my sleep!

7 thoughts on “Catch Up

  1. Look at you becoming the social butterfly! Who would have thought?? 🙂 I don’t know how to say this without sounding motherly, but I’m proud of you!! LOL! GP is bound to notice….perhaps that’s your motivation. 🙂 Keep it up! And I hope you get a nap soon!! 🙂

    LOL! Well, you are a mother so maybe it just comes naturally. Like I said looking back everything was fun and hey, at least I made some efforts right? I got a little sleep last night but I’m still tired today. I might have to go to bed early tonight.

  2. haha most love those pioneer pageants. My favorite is Martin Harris? I don’t know for sure. I just know I like the one that’s held in a grave yard. Talk about creepy.

    I’ve never heard of a Martin Harris pageant. But then again I had never heard of any pageant other than the one in Manti but I’ve never gone. That would be a little creepy for a pageant to be held in a grave yard but it sounds like one I might like.

  3. haha I thought it was going to be the Manti Pagent but I dont recall bleachers there. I could be wrong. anyways I never stay awake at those. I have been to the Manti one 3 times and always fall asleep right after the first song and dont wake up till the volcano part:D Ahhh those monday night activities. I did not attend a single one of those:D

    It was the one in Castle Dale (1/2 hour away from Price). I had never heard of it before. I’ve never been to the Manti pageant even though I’ve lived here for four years now. But if you keep falling asleep maybe it’s not that great. I don’t make a habit of FHE but it’s hard to pass up free food.

  4. You actually carried the conversation? With a total stranger? Did hell freeze over? You as a Chatty Cathy just kills me. Good job!

    P.S. The Manti Pageant is totally overrated.

    I think it must have! I was more than Chatty Cathy. He didn’t really do the obligatory reciprocation when I asked him questions (i.e. What do you do for work? answer followed by And what do you do for work?) so I began to just start saying stuff to keep some sort of conversation going. Things that were related to the conversation but a little random. For example we talked a little about books so I went off about how I had found The Historian on sale for $4 when it’s usually at least $12 or more. We talked briefly about the Olympics but he doesn’t like sports much but I continued with how I ran track in high school and what events I ran. Stuff like that. I have no clue what he was thinking the whole time but am not too concerned about it either. Oh and how’s this for impressive, I carried on a 20-30 min conversation about the Food Network Channel. And I’ve only watched 10-15 min at the most of that channel. I was on fire baby!

  5. Dishing out advice, four days of social functions…

    Everyone at work jokes me about a line my wife used on me when we were working too much…

    “I don’t know you anymore!”

    It might apply here to you. We use it on each other when someone does something “out of character”.

    I think it definitely applies here but I kind of hope this becomes the norm.

  6. You ARE tuning into a Chatty Kathy which is only like you around family and good friends…actually that’s probably how most people are anyway, so I’m not sure that you’re really out there alone on that one. I agree with Pammy Girl about the Manti Pageant. I didn’t even know they did that one anymore.

    It’s true. When I’m around family and good friends I’m pretty outgoing. And can even be funny. I don’t feel too bad about not seeing the Manti Pageant.

  7. Sleep?! What’s that? does it really exist? I haven’t had a good nights sleep in years. Maybe when I’m 80 and the kids have hopefully moved out…..

    🙂

    If I’m tired now I can only imagine the lack of sleep I would get if I have kids. No lie, this has actually been something I have thought of before. Of all the concerns to have at the possibility of having kids, this is one that comes up for me. HAHA!

Leave a Reply

