Soundtrack

Two Crazy Girls tagged me to come up with a soundtrack of my life.  And thank goodness too.  I’ve been in a slump and was convinced I would find something this weekend to write about.  But I didn’t.  Friday night I fell asleep at 7:30!!  Who does that???  Me apparently.  I woke up in time to watch the Psych premier at 11 and fell back asleep until 10 the next morning.  Good grief.

Instead of coming up with songs that define what I think my life is about, I came up with a list of songs that recall a specific time or event when I hear them.  They  suggested at least 7 and while the list could go on indefinitely here’s what I’ve got:

1.  Beat It – Michael Jackson

I think this is the first song I ever really remember listening to and liking.  Well this and Material Girl by Madonna.  If you were a kid/teenager when the Thriller album came out and now say you didn’t like it at the time, then you my friend are a liar.  Everyone loved it.

2.  The Right Stuff – New Kids on the Block

NKOTB was the first group I remember liking on my own without my older sister’s influence.  I believe I was in the 5th grade at the height of the hype.  I committed stupid facts about them to memory so well that 20 years later I can still spit them out (i.e. Joey’s birthday is Dec. 31st and they had a dog named Nikko that traveled with them.  Oh for crying out loud!)

3.  Heart Shaped Box – Nirvana

I’m thinking I was in the 9th grade when Kurt Cobain died.  Ninth grade is such a crazy time when everyone is so melodramatic and full of angst.  I hear this song and remember the time my neighbor across the street (we were in the same grade) and his band played for some girl’s birthday party in the neighborhood pavilion.  He wore a black dress with a white collar and only made it through this song before the police came because of a noise violation.

4.  One Sweet Day – Mariah Carrey/Boyz II Men

Holy crap there was not an hour that wouldn’t go by when you didn’t hear this song being played on the radio.  I think I was in the 11th grade at the time and when I hear this song now I think about the weekends and driving around with friends.  Then I turn the dial.

6.  Independent Women – Destiny’s Child

This was a mega hit for girls everywhere…or at least on the campus in Hawaii.  This song would be blasting from the dorms and cars driving by 24/7.  You could be walking across campus, hear this song, and watch as girls broke out in dance all over the place.  Rest assure I was not one of them however.

7.   It Wasn’t Me – Shaggy

The second year I was in Hawaii the boys came back with a vengeance thanks to this little diddy.  I can not tell you how sick I was of hearing guys say, “It wasn’t me” for EVERYTHING.  “So, how do you think you did on the test?”  “It wasn’t me!”  “What?” “So do you think you could help out this weekend?”  “It wasn’t me!” “Honestly, what is the matter with you?”

8-10.   Get the Party Started – Pink, Hey Baby – No Doubt, and Drowning – Back Street Boys

These songs make me think of Mexico.  When I was living there I came across one English radio station and I swear these were the only three songs in rotation.  And what’s worse is that one of my classes consisted of students 14 and 15 years old and the girls would get in arguments, actual arguments, with each other on which boy band was better, Back Street Boys or NSYNC.  As far as I know they never reached a conclusion.

11.   Yeah! – Usher

This song was HUGE when I came home from Guatemala.  While over there I hadn’t listened to music for a year and a half (well, other than throw back 80s songs they would play on the buses like Queen of Hearts by Juice Newton) and this was the first song to greet me on my arrival home.  It was such an overkill that I now hate this song.  Not long after I returned home Usher came out with another huge hit called My Boo.  Funny story about that.  Where I was in Guatemala we referred to diarrhea as “boo”.  I don’t know why but we did and so did some of the locals in the mountains.  Because majority of us were foreign there was a lot of talk about “boo”.  I’m sure Usher is not the first singer to refer to their significant other as boo but it had never caught my attention before.  The first time I heard this song, I did a double take at the radio not sure I heard the words right.  Surely he wasn’t saying what I thought he was.  After a couple more times of hearing the song I determined that indeed he was singing about his boo.  I was in hysteric fits of laughter every time the song came on and especially at the lines “how I try to hide my boo” and “what am I going to do without my boo?”.  Probably live a little more comfortably without it is my guess.  I still get a smile on my face when the song comes on.

19 thoughts on “Soundtrack

  1. Oh I remember the Backstreet Boys/*NSYNC wars. I was like 10 or 11 when all that was going on. I think I was more of a Backstreet Boys kind of girl. Atleast I had one of their CD’s but I don’t think I ever reached complete fandom.

  2. SadieSadie: I didn’t have an opinion one way or the other. Occasionally each one had a song or two that I liked.

    Maris: That’s pretty funny about Justin and the Timberlakes. True though. I don’t think any of them did much after except him. I was more of a New Kid on the Block fan though.

    adam: What is it about ninth grade that brings out all that angst? haha Actually I probably just pretended to have some because I don’t recall anything in life to have angst over. How lame is that.

  3. “Probably live a little more comfortably without it is my guess. ” Ha ha ha ha ha!!!

    What… no D2 songs make up the soundtrack of your life? I’m disappointed.

  4. I have a NKOTB story about that song and in a mexican restaraunt in Chicago on a trip…I may have to try to remember that story. I forgot about it until tonight. It owner came out and danced “the dance” in the middle of the dining room.

  5. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Alanis Morrisette were all great reasons to be in high school in the 90’s. So much angst, and so much flannel to tear to showcase such angst. I can already see me listening to some “Smells Like Teen Spirit” when I am a grandma, rockin’ out in my Hoveround, with my embarrassed grandkids shaking their head.

  6. Pammy Girl: Well I know I would live a little more comfortably without it. D2 was more you and Lynne. If it was going to make up part of my soundtrack it would have been when I was young but Michael Jackson beats them out.

    morethananelectrician: I know exactly which dance you’re talking about and wish I could have seen the owner bustin a move out on the floor. This may be a story you’ll have to tell in full.

    maleesha: I almost put some Alanis on the list but opted not at the last minute. But she definitely had influence. Sad to say but I wore a lot of flannel in those early days of high school. Mostly shirts out of my dad’s closet.

  7. Okay….first off I want to know what happened to the homemade cookies that you were supposed to make. You mentioned them in the previous blog but then the trail goes cold…….mmmmm, cookies!

    Second, I feel really OLD right about now. I can honestly say
    that I haven’t listened to any of the songs you have listed. I’ve heard of them but that’s as far as the coincidence goes. And I will never, ever, ever, publicly admit that I ever listened to Michael Jackson 🙂 EVER! YOU CAN’T MAKE ME!!!! Even if the song is stuck in my head now…….

  8. Scottie: The cookies are yummy! I’m eating some for breakfast actually. Most of the songs on this list aren’t that great and you’re probably better off not having heard them. It’s ok, your Michael Jackson secret is safe with me….

  9. Yeah! was overplayed here in Guatemala. The album as a whole is pretty kick ass, that song (even the remix) is not. Please know that you’ve just ruined “My Boo” for me 😉

  10. I can relate with the random band facts being stuck in your head for years for no good reason…my facts are about Duran Duran…the cars they were driving at the time, their girlfriends at the time, their favorite junk food etc. Every once in a while when I hear one of their songs a random fact comes to mind — yikes.

  11. Lists are very personal and as a new reader of yours I would say I like it. It gives me insight.

    I would say that Heart Shaped Box is a great song in and of itself but have you ever heard the bootleg Evanescence version? Man, Amy has some PIPES!

    Anyone who says they didn’t like or own Thriller is lying.

  12. duffboy: I guess I left before I heard Yeah! played there. Sorry to ruin My Boo but you have to admit it’s pretty funny. Is that a term used all over Guatemala or did we just use it in our little group?

    Billy: You may have been there…were you the guy in the heels and sequined shirt? oh wait, that was another party…..

    Ginny: It really was!

    Lynne: I figured you and Pammy Girl could come up with facts about D2. It’s weird what we remember.

    The Last Spartan: I have not heard this bootleg version but I need to! I really like Evanescence and can only imagine what it must sound like.

  13. It’s all acoustic and it was done as guests on some radio show. Lemme see if I can dig it up somewhere…

  14. I’ve been meaning to comment on this for quite some time.

    Great Post. Sounds alot like my soundtrack. “Thriller” was the first album (on album too) that I ever owned. I actually put it on the other day while cleaning house. When J started making fun of me I told him he would be “Beating It” for a while if he didn’t shut up.

    I would probably go with, “Hangin Tough” for NKOTB. Have you heard their new song? LOVE IT. My sister and I also committed random facts about our fave 5 to memory en route to Florida one year on family vacation. I remember us being so estatic when we got a (form) letter from the guys. Good times.

    “One Sweet Day” came out around the same time as one member of my senior class was killed in a car wreck. I cannot hear that song without thinking of him, even though I didn’t know him.

  15. Alyson: Thriller is awesome and I put it on from time to time and it never seems to get old. Hangin Tough isn’t one of my favorites but I think that’s b/c when I was in the 5th grade I did some stupid cheerleading thing and that was the song we had to learn a routine to. I hated the girl that was my coach and the song reminds me of her. I have heard their new song and it’s catchy…the video however, is hysterical. They’re too old to be dancing like they do at the end. If you haven’t seen it you should check it out on youtube. One Sweet Day is a great song but it was way overplayed.

Leave a Reply

