I Got Nuthin

I love having this blog.  I really do.  But there are some days/weeks when I have no motivation to write anything or even read anyone else’s stuff.  And then the guilt and self pressure step in as though my not writing will somehow devastate mankind and keep the earth from continuing it’s rotation in space.  I’m always on the lookout for something, anything that I can turn into a blog entry.  Work is a dead end at the moment as I’m having a hard time finding actual work to do let alone blog entry ideas.  I’ve been hitting our complex workout facility a little harder lately thinking something will come to mind as I’m running in place.  The only thing I managed to think was, “I wish I could find the dodo moron who was genius enough to break off the plug prong, from the ONLY fan, into the socket rendering it useless.”  Though I think I might have run long enough to burn off the yogurt I had for breakfast.  We’ll forget about lunch, dinner, and all the snacks in between.  How I lasted in track for 6 years is anybody’s guess.

So my mission this weekend is to find or come up with anything worth writing about.  Or anything to write about at all whether it’s worth it or not.  I’m not sure what that means I’ll have to do but by golly, I’m going to do it!  Well, maybe tomorrow.  Tonight I’m attempting to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and watching the premire of Psych – if I can stay awake.

16 thoughts on “I Got Nuthin

  1. here’s what I do. I go through spurts where I find a lot of stuff to blog about, so I will, but save them as drafts. Then if there is a day where I am not inspired, I will publish one of those drafts. It’s almost like a repository of posts just waiting to be published!

  2. adam: Great idea. I actually just got tagged so I’ll write up a draft and post it Monday if nothing else happens. That way I have a back up just in case.

    maleesha: I hate these kinds of weeks. Hopefully we’ll both get out of the funk.

  3. I love your blog. I love it so much, in fact, that I have given you an award. Its on my blog, so swing by and pick it up. Thanks for all the good times of me snickering in the dark- reading your blog when I should be asleep.

  4. haha this happens to me a lot a lot. which is probably why Kelli has like 20+ more posts then me. You keep your posts comin’ really well. Some of us just aren’t as clever as you. 🙂

  5. Go to Wal-Mart, pick the longest line, and take your camera…you’re sure to find something.

    BTW, I really like your new header picture. It reminds me of Mary Tyler Moore.

  6. Lynne: How about I eat some for you instead. They taste awesome by the way!

    morethananelectrician: Great idea! I actually wrote a letter to the English language once for an assignment. I’ll have to give this some more thought.

    jesseybean: WHOO HOO!! I really appreciate that!

    sadiesadie: Doesn’t it suck?!? I don’t think I’m clever, I’m usually just bored. Thanks for the comment and keep stopping by.

    Allison: Another great idea for when I’m in a jam! Thanks for the compliment about the picture. I really like this new page/design much better.

  7. You can thank me for the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, since I gave you the recipie. My weekend went like this: I left work at 3:30 because I could. Went directly to the movie theatre where I watched ‘The Dark Knight’. Found myself at the grocery store buying 2 pints of Ben & Jerry’s. Went to bed after watching Psych and woke up at 10 the next morning. The rest of the weekend was about as interesting. I had plans to do a walking tour of some out of the way place I never knew existed, but people kept calling me (people I actually wanted to talk to) so I never took my walk.

    Here’s hoping something decent happens this week… for all our sakes.

  8. Pammy Girl: Thank you, the cookies turned out fabulous. I’m eating some right now actually. Your Friday was more exciting than mine if you can believe it. I fell asleep at 7:30 woke up for Psych and fell back asleep until 10 on Saturday. Whoo Hoo.

  9. Blogs ebb and flow. That’s the nature of writing. I tackle this one of two ways.

    1) Pick out a magazine, close my eyes…turn to a page and write on that subject (at least until it forces me to find another topic)

    2) Take your most creative times and draft like hell. When you hit a slow period, fine tune and publish a previous draft.

    Just a thought. After all, I could just be stupid. Love the writing. Glad I found it.

  10. duffboy: It most certainly is!

    The Last Spartan: Great ideas! I’ve seen you on my sister’s blog (hey there pammy-girl, I assume that’s how you found me) and am glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

