Emergency Essentials

Yesterday I blogged about my car fiasco (see entry below) and I’d like to add a little to the story.  Yesterday a co-worker was nice enough to have his wife come and pick us up and take me home (I’m still waiting to hear back from the mechanic and thus, still do not have my car).  As we make our way off my exit I suddenly remember something very important – the mechanic has my keys a.k.a. MY HOUSE KEY!!!  Oh for crying out loud!  Not wanting to impose on my co-worker and his wife anymore than I feel I had already, I said nothing.  We get to my apartment and I thank them, get out and head to the steps ready to make myself comfortable because I had a two hour wait until my roommate would get home from work.  The whole thing was incredibly funny and there was really nothing I could do but laugh at the situation.  Good thing I like to be outside in the sun and good thing I had my book with me.  So this entire experience has taught me that there are 6 things to remember to have at all times:

 

1.  Cell phone – I can’t believe my parents had to practically MAKE me get one because now it feels awkward to not have it with me.  However in my defense, I was living outside the country for a year and a half without any sort of technology and had left before cell phones became all the rage.

2.  Books – In almost any emergency situation you will find yourself waiting for something or someone.  Books make the time pass very quickly!

3.  Camera – My phone has one but it’s crappy so it doesn’t count.  I did not have a camera on me when my car died but really wish I would have.  You never know when you’ll see something or want to document something for a blog entry!!

4.  Keys – Car and house!  In my case I really could have used that house key.  My roommate and I were talking about putting a spare one somewhere outside just in case.  Of course, this conversation would have been helpful at an earlier time.

5.  Sense of humor – Honestly, if you can’t find something about your situation a little funny than you have a much bigger problem.   Even if it means “looking back” and laughing, that’s better than never finding it humorous.

6.  Money – In any form preferably cash/debit/credit card.  You just never know.

I know there are more things that in all seriousness you should have in your car at all times but these are the things that either helped me or I wish I would have had at the time.

16 thoughts on “Emergency Essentials

  1. 1. Check.
    2. Um…I never thought to put a book in my car – thanks! (if it came down to it I would probably be alright reading my daughter’s stash of books in the backseat, you never out grow E.B. White)
    3. Check. I just started toting my camera with me everywhere. Hey, you never know!
    4. Check. Even have a spare hidden on the porch. Shhhh…don’t tell anyone.
    5. Check. Definitely agree on that one. If you can’t laugh at yourself or your situation you DO have a much bigger problem.
    6. Check. (unless I forgot my purse, which I left on the dining room table with my keys, including the spare that I forgot to put back in it’s hiding place. Oops.)

    Excellent advice…thanks!

  2. Good list. I would add flashlight, a bottle of water and a thermal blanket (one those paper thin shiny blankets). Of course, this would be in your car…not carried around. You never know where you will end up.

  3. hey, this is Morgen…in my defense I didn’t know you very well. I remember that a girl went with us to slc…but hardly talked to me the whole time:) and peter thought that it was you but wasn’t sure. I wouldn’t feel bad…he remembers NOTHING!!! you should try living with him!!:)

  4. I agree with everything on your list…especially the book and the camera (the 2 most practical things on your list). I have felt like beating my head on a waiting room wall before when faced with crappy magazines. I have totally used my camera for impromptu blogging opportunities (like guys who don’t finish their brownies).

    Good luck on your car situation. That sounds like quite an ordeal.

  5. To avoid your key-fiasco, I keep the house and car keys on different chainy-things. It’s a drag, but when I come to work, I leave the house keys inside the car, so I avoid carrying them with me. It has been almost a decade since I got my first cell phone, courtesy of my dad. Who’d thought they would end up feeding zillions of people?

  6. Chad: All great things to have. I also have an Atlas, towel, little kit of toothpast, shampoo, etc, and a box of tampoons in the car. You just never know.

    Allison: I hate being in waiting rooms with nothing to read except home decor magazines! In the end I only needed a new battery and not a new alternator so I was more than thrilled!

    duffboy: I should keep them on separate rings and maybe I wouldn’t get locked out from everything. I did however manage to remember to take my work ID badge out of my car before dropping it off so at least I didn’t show up to work only to be locked out!

    Sarah: You would think that since I made the list I would remember the stuff on it to take with me. I still have forgotten my camera.

    Matt: Ah yes, a mechanic!! If I had one of those I could probably get rid of a couple of things on the list. Hmm, I’m going to go out today and see what I can find.

  7. I don’t mean to add to your list of essentials. Im not usually the one to tell someone they forgot something important, but I will now. Everyone should have at least 2 friends who would be willing to drop everything to help them. I’m not just talking about car help or someone willing to climb to your balcony to break-into your apartment when you lock your keys out. (although both of these types of friends are nice.) Everyone should have friends who can pick them up when they don’t have a ride, or talk to them when they have a bad day, or where they can drop in to eat unexpectedly becasue they forgot to buy enough bread when they went shoping. You don’t need two friends who can do all of this by themselves. You can have different friends who can help in different areas, but people can never have enough real friends. MORAL: Never leave home without friends. They are better than a mechanic in the back seat.

  8. Boon: So very true! And apparently I must not have those types of friends b/c no one answered their phone. Or even worse, maybe I’m not one of those types of people b/c everyone I called was in a situation themselves and no one thought to call me…yikes! I don’t know if you would be willing to break into my apartment but thanks for answering your phone and helping with my car!!

  9. I would be willing to break in, but im not sure you would want me to. So here is my word, “Nandango, I will never break into your apartment without your consent.” There, now you don’t have to worry about me breaking and entering.

  10. Boon: I actually don’t think I would be all that worried if you broke into my apartment – quizzical maybe but worried no. But good to know if I ever do need you to break in that you would be willing. Speaking of, when Mel lived in the complex last year, some guy broke into her roommates room through her balcony in the middle of the night. How creepy is that? I guess it’s a good thing the roommates boyfriend was sleeping over and was in the room to get rid of the guy.

  11. Pingback: how do i invest

Leave a Reply

