The Weekends Kills Me

But not in the way it does for other people my age.  I’m 28 and single and should be mixing it up with the best of them out on the town living a playful and carefree life.  Are my weekends even remotely close to being like this?  Yeah right.  Friday night I was watching some newsish show like 20/20 but got bored so I went and to my room and picked up the book I’m reading.  But I fell asleep around 9:30 and woke up about an hour later.  I could barely function to take out my contacts and then collapsed on my bed and didn’t get up Saturday until 11. 

Saturday night was spent reading and I went to bed around 11.  Got up a little after 7 Sunday morning and took a nap in the afternoon for about an hour and a half.  Well now I’m getting a little too much sleep so lastnight I make myself go to bed at 11 even though I’m not all that tired.  But I get up around 5:30 every morning so I figured I should try and get some sort of sleep for the night.  I don’t know how long I layed there before finally falling asleep but I’m sure it had to be at least an hour.  Then to top it off I woke up at 4 this morning and couldn’t fall back asleep.  Finally I got out of bed at quarter to 6 and came in to work at my usual time of 6:30-6:45ish. 

As of this moment I’m doing ok but I feel the crash coming soon.  I’ll leave work at 3 and since it’s finally a beautiful day out will end up at the park with my book.  The problem is that I’ll fall asleep and won’t be able to go to bed tonight and the pattern will repeat itself all week until my body can’t handle it and come Friday I’ll be going to bed at 9 or 9:30 (which is an improvement b/c I’ve been in bed by 8 before).

I guess I should be grateful I’m not out getting trashed like everyone else right?  It’s better for me in the long run right?  Oh man, I still have 5 1/2 hours of work left.  Not. Sure. I can. Make it.  Must. Sleep!

13 thoughts on “The Weekends Kills Me

  1. I have weird sleeping habits too. Sometimes I just can’t sleep for like a whole week, and by the end of it I’m a little weird. I hope you survive work. 🙂

  2. I need more sleep. I stayed out until 4 on Friday (Saturday) and I am still hurting. I think it is because I am old.
    I’m staying home and reading next weekend.

  3. I’ll never understand why sometimes we get so much sleep and then can’t seem to function until we get back to our normal sleep habits, which usually come by way of some kind of self imposed sleep deprevation. Good luck.

  4. sadiesadie: A whole week with no/little sleep? I would be a little weird after that too. I did survive work but barely.

    Dead Charming: Yes I do!

    morethananelectrician: It probably would help except I do get internet at home. With my job I’m online ALL day at work so I opt to not pay for it at home.

    Billy: 4 in the morning?? Crap, I don’t think I’ve seen 4 in the morning on the side of staying up since well, I can’t even remember. (Cripes my memory’s going as well) I don’t know how old you are but I assume you’re not that much older me, so this is what happens huh? We can’t stay up then rebound like we used to? Getting older sucks!

    Sarah: Thanks I need it! I’ve always been one of those people who needs my 7-8 hours of sleep and when I get thrown off I’m a mess. I tried to go to sleep earlier lastnight and it was better than Sunday night but it still may take a few days. Just in time to get thrown off by the weekend again.

  5. I used to go to bed by 10 and was up a little before 5. That’s when I was “young”. Now that I’m 35, I stay up until midnight watching reruns of Will & Grace and am out of bed by 7. Sometimes I take naps and I am NOT a nap person. I think everything will changed once I get a job. Ambien works wonders but so does Tylenol PM.

  6. Billy: It’s funny b/c in every scenerio I can think of, 30 is not that big of a number until it comes to my own personal age. When I think of turning 30 in the not so distant future I about have a stroke.

    Pammy Girl: Remember when I couldn’t get out of bed in the morning and when I did I was an absolute beast? Well, I’m now up a little after 5 every day…I’m still a beast though!

  7. Oh man, I am so freaking old! But actually if you’re a night owl you kind of stay that way. I was up into 4 a.m. just last night, then woke up to a phone call this morning at 7:30 and just stayed up. Now it’s midnight again and I haven’t slept yet. Once I hit the pillow I’ll be out. I know loads of people, however, who have to do the sleeping pill thing. I feel very fortunate that I haven’t experienced that yet.

    And yes, I do think you;’re way ahead of the game due to the fact that you’re not out getting trashed on weekends! It adds absolutely NOTHING to your life in the long run! Be proud of yourself:)

    Oh, I should add that I’ll be 48 next week, just so you can put the age thing into perspective. Isn’t it weird how sometimes there is so much pressure to “have fun” that it’s nearly impossible to make it happen?

    Oh my God, 48 is so freaking close to 50! How did this happen? Actually, I like my 40’s way better than any other decade yet. So much easier . . .

  8. pamajama: I honestly don’t know how people funtion without sleep. But I guess you get used to it – well, they do I would never. I’ll bet your 50’s will be even better than your 40’s were. It seems like everyone appreciates their age better as they get older. I know I would never want to be a teen or in my early 20’s again (maybe 25 though) and I’ll probably look back at my late 20’s the same when I’m in my 30’s.

  9. Dear Bluesuit, I’m laughing as I read your reply because I’m wondering, “Do I only like my 40’s because I have so little choice?!” And of course my favorite reply to this stuff is, “It’s better than the alternative.” Yeah, I’m really not interested in keeling over just yet.

    By the way, when I worked a 12-hour night shift in NYC I sometimes went a couple days without sleeping when my son was little. It’s really true, the walls begin to move and you start to hallucinate when it’s getting close to 3 days without sleep!

Leave a Reply

