More Books

I made it a goal this year to read at least one book a week.  I was doing fabulous on that until about 3-4 weeks ago when I couldn’t seem to get through the book I was reading at the time.  I made it through and now have some ground to catch up on.  I already wrote about the first five books I read this year and because of a lack of anything else to write about, here are the rest:

 

I.  Imperium: A Novel of Ancient Rome – Robert Harris                      Rating: 5 stars

2. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez              Rating: 4 stars

3.  Life of Pi – Yann Martel                                                               Rating: 5 stars

4.  The Liar’s Diary – Patry Francis                                                   Rating: 2 stars

5.  The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini                                             Rating: 4 stars

6.  The Island – Victoria Hislop                                                       Rating: 3 stars

7.  Wicked – Gregory Maguire                                                          Rating: 3 stars

8.  Harry Potter & the Deathly Hollows – J.K. Rowling                       Rating: 4 stars

9.  The Friday Night Knitting Club – Kate Jacobs                               Rating: 2 stars

10. The Ghost – Robert Harris                                                          Rating: 5 stars

11. Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen                                                Rating: 4 stars

12. The Witch of Portobello – Paulo Coelho                                        Rating: 3 stars

13. Moment of Truth – Lisa Scottoline                                                Rating: 2 stars

 

Looking back I think I may have been a little harsh on some of the ratings and on some of them a little too lenient.  And some of the books I can’t even remember what they’re about, while others got me thinking of things beyond what’s written on the pages.  The books I gave the lowest ratings aren’t terrible books but would be perfect for reading on an airplane.  Something to keep your interest for the few hours in flight and then stowed away for the remainder of their shelf life (or their non-shelf life).

14 thoughts on “More Books

  1. I know the struggle to get through a book well. One day you can barely put a book down, the next day you dread the thought of picking it up. And then when you do pick it up, you just can’t get your mind to wrap itself around the meaning of the words.

  2. Sarah: Isn’t that the truth! Part of my problem is that I read so much that I get burned out and can’t look at any book for a few weeks. I need some moderation!

  3. Ahhhhh… I remember reading. I think the last time I did it was before the birth of my first child. I envy you, Blue (look…I made a rhyme). I love to read. I just don’t have the time anymore. Oh, well maybe when I start collecting social security I’ll have time then. 🙂

  4. Scottie: Yeah that’s an advantage to no kids….and no social life – all the books you can handle! Actually it helps that when I get really slow at work I can just sit and read. Some of the books on that list were read entirely while I was at work. Hopefully you won’t have to wait that long to enjoy another book!!

  5. I just finished Life Of Pi. I’m glad you gave it 5 stars. Right now I am reading The Road. It’s pretty scary but I was in the airport yesterday and some girl informed me that it was an “Oprah Book Club” book. That made it a little less intense for me. Don’t know why?

    You are such a great writer. You should write book reviews.

  6. Will: I would have had the same reaction if I had been told the book I was reading was Oprah Book Club book as well. And like you, I’m not sure I could explain why. As I was reading Life of Pi I kept thinking “Oh this is an Ok book.” But then when I got to the end it was more like, “Shut your mouth!” Love books like that! Thanks for the compliment though I think you might have been a little lenient in your review!

  7. I enjoyed Wicked more than you did apparently. And if you’re reading Coehlo, please PLEASE tell me you’ve already read “The Alchemist”, and “By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept” which are both on my “six stars on a one-to-five scale” list.

  8. Dead Charming: I did read the The Alchemist a few years ago and absolutely LOVED it!! That’s the reason I picked up The Witch of Portobelo. I’ve never heard of his other one you mentioned but will have to be on the look out for it.

  9. “By the River Piedra…” is second only to “The Alchemist” for me as far as Coehlo goes. Several of his others were just not a good fit. I’d probably only give “The Valkyries” 1.5 to 2 stars…so his stuff can have a pretty rocky range.

    If I could only read two more books this year, I’d read “The Princess Bride” by William Goldman as it is both different and like the movie. And it really is worth reading whether you liked the movie or not.

    And Neil Gaiman’s “Fragile Things” which is a short story/poetry collection, but it’s probably my favorite thing in print. Ever. And that’s saying A LOT.

  10. Dead Charming: I actually own and have read The Princess Bride but it’s been a while. I might need to pull that out and read it again. And who didn’t like the movie?? It’s so classic with the most fantastic lines to quote! I’ll have to look into finding Fragile Things.

  11. “The Princess Bride” remains one of my all-time favorite books and movies. And they are completely independent in my mind. I’m pretty sure I can quote the entire movie word for word…something so nerdy I used to reserve that special skill for Star Wars alone.

    Now…now I probably wouldn’t admit to that level of nerdity in public.

    I also wouldn’t admit that it was “The Princess Bride” and “Casanova” that led me to take up fencing. Although I have admitted it to my current class of high-school kids…so that cat just might be out of the bag.

  12. Dead Charming: A few years ago I decided to sit down and watch the three original Star Wars movies to see what the big deal was. It took me forever b/c I kept getting bored and turning it off to do other things. I eventually just gave up. Oddly, my roommate just asked me this weekend if I knew where they would be selling them all together. Why she was asking me I have no clue. The only trilogy I just HAD to have was Indiana Jones. Anyway, sorry your Star Wars reference reminded me of that. My sister took fencing a few years ago but I don’t know if it was because of The Princess Bride or not. Though it could have been b/c she loved that movie and the dual with Indigo Montoya.

  13. So here’s the deal with Star Wars. When I was six, it was the COOLEST THING EVER!!! (TM) and there was nothing that could EVER be as cool. EVER.

    I’d say between the age of six and about twenty one, I probably saw it more than a hundred times. Seriously. That’s like two-hundred hours. One episode IV alone. Now, I wasn’t really “watching” it that much, it just became a part of the background soundtrack of my life.

    I went and saw them when they were re-released in the theaters, and again when I bought them on DVD. I went and saw the prequels (I even camped out overnight for the first one)…

    …but as time goes on, it just becomes sillier and sillier. I still love them on many levels, but I don’t LOVE them the way I did as a child. And to be honest, I haven’t watched any of them since I saw episode III in the theaters. I couldn’t even watch it on DVD after I bought it…it just doesn’t hold my interest.

    It just shows that some of the wonder of my childhood has leached out of me slowly over the last few years, and that makes me sad.

  14. Oh, and I actually took up fencing because of the Heath Ledger movie Casanova. But during my first month of classes I watched “The Princess Bride” and during the duel, they exchange SO MUCH accurate fencing lore/history/detail that I was just enthralled. I’ve always loved the movie, but after that, it was a real inspiration as I continued to learn to fence.

    Now I make all my students watch it half way through the intro 101 class. The salle Mistro totally agrees with me, it’s about the most educational thing on film. And you’d be SHOCKED how many jr. high and high school kids have NEVER seen it before. They’re the most fun to watch it with.

Leave a Reply

