Music and a Little Road Trip

My mom flies into Vegas tonight then over to southern Utah where I’ll be driving down to meet up with her for Memorial weekend.  I’m really excited about the getaway, because really, who doesn’t like to get away?  Plus I haven’t seen my mom since Christmas and I enjoy hanging out with her.  So I was trying to think of all the little things to pack and take with me.  That’s the good thing about driving as opposed to flying.  There doesn’t have to be order in your packing since you have an entire car to pile everything into. 

The most important part of a road trip no matter how big or small, is the music.  I was flipping through all my CDs trying to decide which ones I wanted to take when it occured to me that I couldn’t even remember what I had in the player in the car.  I go through rotations where I listen to only the radio for a time then switch over to only CDs and then back again.  I’ve been in a radio phase as of late.  So I made my way to the car to check it out.  My car has a 6 disc changer and it was like going down memory lane discovering what was there.  I know a lot of people post 5 things they find in their purse or wallet but I’m going to list the 6 CDs I found in the changer:

1.  Mixed CD – These are the best!  This one I got from my brother at Christmas time and I love it.  It has random songs from Pink, Evenescence, Avril Lavine, Dixie Chicks, Maroon 5, Fergie, Lifehouse, Josh Turner to U2.  There are more but you get the general idea.

2.  Punk Goes 80’s – Do I like 80s music?  Check.  Do I like Punk?  Check.  So this CD is brilliant.  Various artists like Relient K, Halifax, Sugarcult, Emery, and Midtown (my favorite) all play 80s covers.

3.  Poison’s Greatest Hits – Um, yeah.  I don’t know why that’s in my player but it makes me laugh just thinking about it.  The CD reminds me of college even though it was technically before my time.  I recently obtained this CD from my old roommate when I was visiting her in Washington so I guess I put it in for nostalgia…oh who am I kidding?  I love it.

4.  Queen’s Greatest Hits – Another One Bites the Dust.  Need I say more?  I love, love that song especially the intrumental part.  I have no clue what they’re playing when it sounds like shakers at one point but I love it.

5.  Men, Women, & Children – I was introduced to this group thanks to my brother.  I have no idea what style they would be called but they sound like a odd mix of techno, dance, and punk with playful lyrics.  But it works.

6.  Red Jumpsuit Apparatus – Again, another group introduced by my brother.  I saw them perform twice before they went semi-mainstream and I have to say they sound better on CD than they do live.  They do have some catchy songs other than the two overplayed songs Facedown and Your Guardian Angel.  Though I still like those two as well.

8 thoughts on “Music and a Little Road Trip

  1. and why is The Throbbing Testicles – Your Music Is Bad And You Should Feel bad not in that list hmmmm? Me thinks you should be playing it until it dies seeing that we’re going to be really big after our show in 2 weeks. 😀

  2. What? No Vanilla Ice? No NKOTB? No Reel Big Fish? Sheesh….what has happened to you?? 🙂 Glad you had Poison in though….sad, but that is one of my favorite cd’s….which reminds me…I need to load up on music for our road trip tomorrow. Poison and Steve Miller Band are a must. Hope you have fun visiting with your mom.

  3. sadiesadie: Mixed CDs really are the only way to go.

    Allison: I have the first two Dixie Chicks CDs but was out of the country for a couple of them. I have heard a few songs from those CDs and have them on Mixed CDs but would love to hear something new from them.

    Robert: Sorry. You’re right. What was I thinking? Good luck at your show and I want to hear how it goes, maybe some pics?

    Leigh: NKOTB was in my car but not player. Although I did listen to it on the way home and now it is in the player. I don’t have Reel Big Fish…someone couldn’t find it to burn for me…LOL. I did listen to Steve Miller Band on the way down though.

    Sarah: I don’t know what it is about that CD that I like b/c the lyrics are terrible. And I don’t mean just because they’re suggestive, I mean they’re ammatureish (is that a word) and lame. Something that I would imagine most 14 year old boys would write if you told them to write a song. Not too much thought went into writing those for sure!

  4. Although I love digital music, I’ll always be a fan of the CD, and the mixed CD’s, they can be your business card: “How do you do, ma’am, this is me: you’ll find my taste for rock ballads, MTV Unplugged performances, and one or two Sugar Ray singles, quite to your liking. Should we listen to this fantastic selection together?”

  5. duffboy: A mixed CD instead of a business card? Genius! You really do get a feel for who a person is based on what they listen to. I think that’s a great question to ask someone you just met, “If you put together a mixed CD right now what would be on it?” It would tell a lot about them.

Leave a Reply

