Being Sick Sucks

Let me start of by saying that I am not a sickly person.  The last time I had even so much as a cold was over 2 years ago.  I think there are a lot of factors that contribute to this.  I don’t have kids, I work in an isolate area so there’s limited contact with co-workers, I keep my distance from my roommate (who is sick ALL the time), I always get 7-8 hours of sleep or more, I over dress at the slightest drop in temperature, we keep our apartment at 75 degrees, and the moment I THINK I might be catching something I start chugging orange juice and take something for it.  I’m not necessarily saying that popping pills is the best way to go but it works for me.

On Saturday I woke up with a little bit of a sore throat but it went away during the day.  Sunday I woke up and it felt even more raw and as the afternoon went on I had a headache.  When my flight landed sunday, I went right straight to the store and bought orange juice and Benadryl and was in bed for the night by 7.  I thought the juice, Benadryl, and my humidifier would do the trick because I was convinced it was sinus related and the reason my throat was sore was because of all the drainage.  Well, I woke up about 3:30 Monday morning and my throat felt like it was on fire.  Then it occured to me that my roommate had bronchitis about a week and half before.  And she was sick for a while, hanging out in the living room coughing and blowing her nose before she finally went to the doctor to see what was wrong.  By then, she had full blown bronchitis.

So, I got up Monday and made my way to work feeling not the greatest but better than I had at 3:30.  I got the doctor and got an appointment for 10 that morning.  I told him my symptoms and he checked for strep throat and bronchitis and to my relief the tests came back negative.  I had been right all along and it was just a result of sinus congestion.  I was relieved it wasn’t anything more serious but ticked that I now have to pay for a doctor’s visit for something I already knew.  Whatever, better to be safe than sorry I guess.  Monday night I went to bed a little before 10.  I had a fitful sleep and when 5:40 rolled around for me to get up I thought I had died.

My head was throbbing, my ears were popping, I was coughing, and I could barely swallow because it hurt so bad.  I took some Benadryl and went back to bed only to wake up in time for the next dosage and to call my boss.  I pretty much slept until 4:30 in the afternoon.  And when I woke up I only felt slightly better.  But I stayed awake because I wanted to make sure that I could sleep through the night.  This morning I woke up around 5 and didn’t feel much different.  So I decided that I would be staying home for another day.  Then the most bazare thing happened.  I took some Advil and went back to sleep until 6:45.  When I woke up, my headache was gone, my ears weren’t clogged anymore, and I could barely feel any soreness in my throat.  Weird.  But I was still tired so I fell back asleep.  I woke up at 8 and felt fantastic – just really hungry.

I got up took a shower and started getting ready for the day.  I have just the slightest bit of congestion and dry throat but other than that nothing.  So I went ahead and came into work (a little late) since the doctor said I wasn’t contaigious.  So much for 2 years of being sick free.  Now I have to start all over.

5 thoughts on “Being Sick Sucks

  1. It sounds like your plan worked for getting better — I usually start taking eccineacea when I feel something coming on…I don’t know if it really works or it’s in my head that it works, but it seems too…(you can get 100 capsules at Wal-Mart for about $4 which is a lot cheaper than the liquid suspension that I use for the kids.

  2. Eww, sounds like what I had. I take Mucinex (pricey but worth it) and that seemed to clear it out pretty quick. I tend to have a great immune system (only get sick about once a year and it’s usually throat related and it never knocks me down) but this cold I just had knocked me on my butt.

  3. I’m about to head over to the store and look for some Coricidin D. That usually clears up whatever I have pretty quickly. If it doesn’t work I’ll be looking into the Mucinex and Eccineacea!

  4. I don’t think I take care of myself so much, unlike you, whenever I get sick, but I admire people who actually go to doctor’s appointments (they went to school for like 20 years for something (apart from the white and slightly sexy/creepy white coats) right?

  5. duffboy: I don’t like going to the doctor but if it keeps me from feeling crappier than needs be then I’m there. Interesting take on the white lab coats. I’m supposed to wear one at my job and I HATE it and refuse to wear it unless I absolutely have to. I don’t think they’re sexy or creepy, just incredibly annoying.

Leave a Reply

