Hello McFly

Lastnight I went to Target looking for one of those giant exercise balance balls.  I LOVE Target and usually find whatever I’m looking for at a good deal.  What I expected to be a quick trip took over an hour to accomplish.  I headed back to the Yoga/Pilate section and found a lot of those balance balls but there were all part of a kit for $30.  Ridiculous.  I just wanted the ball.  Finally I see a sign advertising only a balance ball for $12.  Perfect.  The problem was that there weren’t any actually being displayed.  So I went looking for a Target team member and that’s when I met Will.  I could tell by looking at him that it might be a little bit of a struggle to get what I was wanting but seeing how I couldn’t find anyone else I thought I would take my chances. 

I had him come over to the display/sign area and showed him the ad and that there weren’t any balance balls there.  I asked him if he knew or could check in the back to see if they still had some in stock or if they were really sold out. 

His response: “Umm.  (pause) Umm.  Yeah I don’t really know.  Umm.  Huh.  There isn’t a bar code anywhere.  Umm.” 

So I say: “Well, is it possible to look up the brand name in the back or on a computer and see if you have any in stock?”  

Him: “Umm.  Huh.  I’m not sure.  Umm.” 

Me: “It’s ok.  Thanks.”

So I go in search of someone else that might be able to help me instead of trying to channel their inner Yoga instructor by saying Umm all the time.  I’m searching everywhere for anyone that works in this store.  It’s so true that when you’re looking for help no one is around.  Finally I find another worker and explain what I want and bring her over to the display.  On the way over, we pass Will and she calls out to him if he can come and help us.  I look over my shoulder and say outloud (though I don’t think either heard me) “No.  He can’t help me.  He doesn’t know what he’s talking about.”

I point out the ad again and again ask if it’s possible that there might be some in the back.  She, for whatever reason, turns to him and asks if he knows if there are any in the back.  His response, “Umm.  Well it says here you can get the balance ball or the DVDs.  The DVDs are right here.”  Thanks Einstein. 

 Me: “Yes they are.  But I don’t want a DVD, I’m looking for the balance ball.”

Him: “Umm.  Well, I think, uh, if you look here (and he’s actually pointing to the sign) it says that you can get the balance balls or the DVDs.  And we have the DVDs right here.”

Me:  ” Uh-huh.”

Him: “So it’s the balance ball or DVDs.”

At this point my patience with this kid was gone. 

Me:  “Yes I can read that the sign says you can get the balance ball OR DVDs.  I can see that you have the DVDs here.  I can also see that there is no balance ball on display.  I get that.  My original question is, do you have any more balance balls in stock in the back or have they all sold out?”

Him: “Umm.”

Me:  “Nevermind.  I’m going to another store where I can find someone who can answer my question and help me.”  Was that a little rude on my part?  Probably.  But I really had been outwardly calm sounding up to that point.  And I managed to bite my lip from asking him point blank if he had any balls or not.

I left the store and headed to that oversized garage sale store known as TJ Maxx.  And wouldn’t you know, I got my balance ball for $12 – and it even came with a DVD at no additional cost.

15 thoughts on “Hello McFly

  1. Geez, how rude are you? I’m sure poor Will had to snuggle up extra tight with his dolly and cry himself to sleep that night. LOL! I’m actually surprised you lasted that long….I would have been out after the first conversation with him! Oh, and amen to the oversized garage sale…..I hate that store. 🙂

  2. I’m always amazed at what random stuff is in that store. A couple of years ago, a friend and I bought this hideous mermaid statue as a gag gift for another friend for his birthday. The crazy thing is that it totally match the decor of the apartment and it took weeks for his roommate to even notice it. Go figure.

  3. I remember I actually tried to avoid customers when I worked at Target in college. It sounds like Will might be best suited to stocking in the back as well. I remember when a lady berated me because we “never have the stuff that’s on sale” displayed where someone could easily find it. I was actually a very patient person there and while trying to help her, realized she was holding a KMart ad. When I politely pointed that out, she became red-faced and walked away. This has nothing to do with how you were to Will; you were justified. I just thought it was a funny Target story.

  4. Stuff like that happend a lot when I worked at Kohl’s. That store is a nut hut too, especially during the Christmas season when we were open until midnight. I’m pretty sure I had Will like tendancies some of those nights. Actually I would go back to the stock room, and never come back. Will just didn’t know how to hide is all. I would have snapped too.

  5. indianamatt: My brother works the midnight shift stocking shelves at a Target and I know he feels the same way about customers. He says he tries to hurry and get everything stocked before the doors open and customers come in so he doesn’t have to deal with them.

    Sarah: Hiding out in the stock room is exactly the same thing I would do if I worked in a retail/customer service job. Good thing for everyone I don’t.

    Pammy Girl: Since I was on the phone with you, you heard the whole exchange first hand. You’re my witness that this kid was either having a bad night or a complete dolt, too bad I was the recipient.

  6. Look…I am not sure how to explain this without seeming sexist in some way…so I apologize in advance for offending anyone.

    You: “Will…I would really appreciate it if you could see if there are any more balance balls in the back for me.”

    There are three options here other than the straight delivery of the line. Each has its’ own advantages…

    1. Look him dead in the eyes and smile. (If he is younger than you he will run to the back)

    2. Touch his shoulder during the delivery of the line (This should work on any man)

    3. Cry. (This works for men older than you).

    It may be wrong, but if all you are trying to do is a get a ball from the warehouse area…don’t go to a woman, especially if she is thinner than you are.

  7. While I find it incredibly insulting, I’ve received similar suggestions in manipulating men to get what you want. Sad, funny, and yet true.

    You know how women give you advice on clothes, hair and make up and we trust them? I’m starting to think that if a man is telling me to do certain things in order to get something out of him, then maybe I should take his advice.

  8. morthananelectrician: How true it is! I’m always amazed at how it seems any woman can get any man to do almost anything. And while I know women do the same for men, especially if they have an accent, it seems the women wise up faster. I must admit that I’ve used #1 and #3. Though the time I used #3 I really was distressed about something and not purposely trying to take advantage of the poor guy and I didn’t make it to the full stage of tears before he just took care of the situation. But this whole idea has made me curious and I think you’ve just helped me come up with my next blog entry. Thanks!

  9. Look, I’ve had a few beers tonight…that’s my fair warning. But hey, I want to be your “male pig” balance, okay?

    So you went to Target looking for some balls, right? You couldn’t find any, so you asked Will if he could ‘come’ over and find some. He couldn’t find any balls either. Do I have the story correct? So in the end, both Target and Will have no balls?

    Just boiling a long story into a couple of sentences. 😉

    Gotta go…get another beer.

  10. Crying doesn’t work on men who are in their 80s. I think their patience level is too far gone and they find everyone annoying… kids, cats, noisy neighbors, crying girls… everyone.

Leave a Reply

