Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh, The Right Stuff

I no longer have internet connection at home which not only drove me nuts over the weekend, it caused me to almost miss this little piece of news:  New Kids On The Block are reuniting!!  That’s right folks.  According to people.com NKOTB are staging their comeback.  How could I have almost missed this bit of information??  A few years ago I was talking with my dad and he asked me what group or artist I never saw but always wanted to.  My answer: New Kids On The Block but being realistic, I knew this would never happen.  Then a few years ago VH1 tried out a new program where they would try to reunite various bands for one night, one concert.  They were successful with Flock of Seagulls (and other 80s British bands) but were turned down by some of the members of NKOTB.  With this latest news, maybe there is a spark of hope after all. 

Is their music bubble gum crap?  Yes

Should they stay in retirement?  Yes, Really guys you need to let it go.

Are they too old to be joining together as a boy band?  Yes

Is this going to be a major flop and embarrassment to they guys?  Probably Yes

But to me they hold nostalgia.  This was the first group I remember liking without the influence of my older sisters, they were my Duran Duran (and Pam before you say anything, I would like to remind you that you actually went to a NKOTB concert while I had to stay home because I was too young to go) and they are my guilty pleasure in music.  Now when Joey sings “Please Don’t Go Girl” I can have the satisfaction of knowing that after all this time, I was hangin tough and didn’t go anywhere. 

And by the way, I’m curious to know what music guilty pleasures those of you who read my blog have.

12 thoughts on “Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh, The Right Stuff

  1. I didn’t see Duran Duran in concert until 1993 and then again in 2005. Mom and dad said I was too young when they hit the big time in the early 80s. Our parents were Philistines. 🙂 And about the NKOTB… I honestly don’t remember you being a fan. So maybe I didn’t take you to the concert because I wasn’t aware or because I was just being mean.

  2. I remember being in Chicago in 1989 in a small mexican restaurant (I was 18). The owner couldn’t speak a word of English, but when NKOTB came on the TV (MTV I guess), he was in the middle of the place. He had all of the lyrics and steps down pat.

    I couldn’t imagine Donnie Walhberg signing up for a reunion.

  3. I can remember singing (shrieking) along with “How Can We Be Lovers if We Can’t Be Friends” by Michael Bolton when I was a freshman in high school. I might have worn that tape out. I would probably go to one of his concerts now (if somebody gave me free tickets).

  4. I saw that on the News Sunday! I’m thinking … “what? didn’t they know their music didn’t stick?” Maybe, if girls of today liked them … they would have a reason to come back. But, I’m afraid this might make them a total mock.

  5. Pammy: You probably didn’t take me to the concert b/c you were a senior and I was in the 5th grade. And you went with Trish Smith.

    morethananelectrician: I’m really surprised about Donnie Walhberg as well. He seemed to have the most “promising” career after the band but maybe times are hard. He was awsome in Band of Brothers.

    Allison: I had a co-worker (the donnie osmond story one) who loved Michael Bolton. I’m not much of a fan but find myself singing along with his songs when they come on the radio. Go figure.

    gibsondog: Yeah, I have this image of them performing at county fairs to women in their late twenties or early thirties just like Hugh Grant in Music and Lyrics. Though I don’t think they would be as charming.

  6. As you well know, I love NKOTB. Reading your blog about how you never got to go to a concert brought back memories of one of my best Christmas’ ever. I was in 5th grade, woke up Christmas morning…of course had on my neon pink spandex shorts and my appropriately matching NKOTB tshirt. I remember thinking as we opened presents that I was getting jipped! My siblings were getting cool things and I was getting things like socks and underwear! Rude! So I get to the last gift and when I picked it up, it didn’t feel promising. It was a note from my mom…yes, a note. Little did I know I would be starting a scavenger hunt through our house. I ultimately ended up back in my own bedroom, and there tucked behind my joey mcintyre poster was a white envelope. When I opened it and saw that it was a ticket to the NKOTB concert, I about peed in those bright pink spandex! It was awesome. I went with my best friend at the time and her mom because we were obviously too young to make the trip to Seattle by ourselves. We had nosebleed seats, but it was still AWESOME. I remember catching some of the confetti they blew all over at the end and keeping it in an empty film container….of course it was properly labeled too. I’m not sure what happened to it now that I think about it. Oh, and by the way…..I read that book you sent me. LOL!

  7. Leigh I loved all the details in your story like your pink spandex shorts…yikes! LOL! I’m jealous you got to go! And I’m glad you read the book I sent you, when I saw it I knew I had to give it to you!

  8. While I was in college I worked at an amusement park in NY. Since I was fresh out of the Army and desperate for extra money I worked overtime at the concerts in the park serving beer. Mostly It was fun, the beer stand was near the stage so I had a good view. I used to bring drinks back to the performers because my boss liked my military etiquette (“yes sir” “no ma’am” etc.) The only group that stands out in my mind as being considerate was NKOTB who played with Tiffany there. They were very nice to me when I brought their sodas to them. Not a very exciting story I know, but I did get their autograph for my kid sister who told me I was a good brother.

  9. Alyson: You got to see Milli Vanilli? I remember when they won the grammy and began their acceptance speech. Even at the young age I was I thought it was bazare they could barely speak English but had no problem singing it. Little did we all know back then…

    Silent: I can only imagine how stoked your sister was when you gave her that autograph! And what a totally cool job to have. I would love to work where I could listen to bands all day and get to meet them afterwards.

  10. Yes. My sister was chuffed about the autograph. To this day she has it framed on her wall next to a picture of them. Not of of the artists who played the amphitheater that summer were nice. Oh the stories I could tell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

