So Funny I Almost Peed

I had a co-worker that was one of those people that was so funny and personable that EVERYONE loved her.  You know the type, the kind you want to hate but just can’t.  Well she came for the interview and ultimately it was my decision to hire her.  There was a group of us sitting in on the interview and all was going smoothly with the regular types of questions and responses.  As the interview was winding down we asked her if there was anything she wanted to tell us that would help us know her a little better.  She went the bold route and told us her most embarrassing moment.

For some reason she has a huge crush on Donnie Osmond.  This is a little weird because it’s not 1970 and she’s younger than I am.  Anyway, at the time she was working at a food storage warehouse.  From what I can gather this is just a place where they sold food in massive bulk.  So one day, the back loading dock door bell rang.  So she got up to answer it and guess who is standing there – none other than Donnie himself.  He had come to pick up these large water jugs, for what I’m not sure.  So she plays it cool and goes to get her boss and then goes back to her desk.  After a little while her boss comes back up to her desk.  She precedes to tell him that she’s had this major crush on Donnie and asks her boss if he thinks Donnie would be cool if she asked for his autograph.  He says yeah absolutely and so she heads back to the loading dock.

She goes up to him and starts with the usual “I know you probably get this a lot and I don’t mean to bother you but I’m a huge fan and I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind giving me your autograph.”  To which he replies “sure absolutely.”  So she hands him the paper and he asks what she thinks he should write.  To which she replies “Oh, I don’t know.  How about thanks for the two big jugs?”  She said he slowly looked up at her with this “uh what?” look in his face.  At this point her brain is now computing what she actually said and what she was meaning.  She said she was so mortified that she couldn’t say anything and just looked at him like a deer in headlights.  Then she said  he started laughing and said, “I don’t think I should write that.”  She didn’t say anything and instead he wrote something like “thanks for the two water containers.”  He handed her the paper back and she mumbled an inaudible thanks and walked away, still able to hear him laughing behind her.

I was laughing so hard hearing her tell the story that I was pretty much useless for the rest of the interview.  After a story like that, how could I not hire her?

6 thoughts on “So Funny I Almost Peed

  1. She must have felt very at ease with the interviewers to share her story. When I’ve participated in interviewing before, I’m always thinking about how they would be as a co-worker instead of strictly considering job qualifications. Self-deprecating humor about an Osmond crush is definitely a bonus point situation.

  2. That’s hilarious. Maybe that’s what we all should do in an interview. Share our most embarassing moment in order to prove that we can laugh at ourselves.

  3. I agree with the both of you. I think it’s way more important to have someone work with you that you can get a long with and not necessarily because they were qualified. I’m going to have to keep the idea of sharing an embarrassing moment in mind the next time I interview for a job. Although, I can’t ever remember my own embarrassing moments. I’m not sure if it’s because I don’t consider them overly embarrassing or if I’ve just blocked them out. I can see it become awkward if no one laughs at something I said…crickets chirping in the background…a tumble weed rolls by…

  4. Oh, I’m sure we could brainstorm and come up with a few. Didn’t you ever sit on someone in a dark and completely empty theatre, accidentally flash a group of business men, or trip over a chair at an international conference and knock yourself unconscious? Oh right… all those were me.

Leave a Reply

