It’s Not Just Security That’s a Pain

Lastnight I was talking to my sister about going to LA to visit her during President’s Day weekend.  So we get online to book a flight.  What should have taken 15 minutes ended up taking over an hour.  After finding the cheapest airfare, the process went something like this:

Computer: Please enter the following information (the usual stuff)

Me:  Ok done.  Continue

Computer:  Please check to verify all information is correct

Me: Ok done

Computer:  Please fill out the following form to ensure Visa security

Me: Um, ok.  Never done that before

So I start to fill it out

Me:  Enter my username?  What username?  Enter my password?  What password?  What the crap!  Enter my Social Security number??  What’s my zodiac sign? (ok so I just made that last one up) 

I delete all information on this form and click continue only to discover that I didn’t have to fill out that form in the first place.  Good.

Computer:  Please verify all information is correct.

Me:  Yes I already did that

Computer:  Please enter credit card information

Me:  Again, I already did that

Computer pop up:  If you would like to save an additional 20% on your flight please click here to see offer.

Me:  What? No.  Just give me the flight I already said I wanted. 

Computer: Please verify all information is correct

Me: For the love!!  I’ve already checked.  So unless you’re going to change the information I’ve already entered….it’s correct!

Computer pop up: Would you like to receive advertisments on great deals for future flights?

Me: GRRR!  NO!!  Just book my flight already!

Computer: Thank you for choosing us for your travel needs.  Before the final process is complete please check to verify all information is correct.

Me:  AUGHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “It’s Not Just Security That’s a Pain

  1. You know…someone who is about to end their live on a suicide mission surely isn’t going to have the patience to go through all of that mess and repeated forms.

    They’d just give up and go back to their day job.

    (it is very hard to convey sarcasm in this forum)

Leave a Reply

