I Don’t Know What You Said But Don’t Stop Talking!!

I just got back from seeing the movie August Rush. It’s a cute, feel good, family movie that leaves you with all sorts of warm fuzzies. The best part? Jonathan Rhys Meyers’ accent. There’s a scene where he’s in a car talking to a former bandmate and they both have thick Irish accents. I couldn’t quite grasp the conversation word for word but it didn’t matter…I was enthralled. I don’t know what the deal is with guys and accents but they become cuter and cooler instantly even if I don’t understand what’s being said (with the exception of the German accent, they sound angry and spit a lot). Even the Geico Gecko makes me pause and listen – though if I ever find out the man behind the voice is a grossly fat, blading in the wrong places and hairy in worse places kind of guy, I’m going to be very upset. Maybe it represents something exotic, mysterious, mixed with intrigue. Whatever it is, here are my favorite (in no particular order):

1. Irish – I already mentioned this one but I’m going to throw in the Scottish accent along with it. I realize they are different but close enough. Kind of like us and Canadians.

2. Australian/New Zealand – Again I know these are different but fairly similar. And who could resist either one? You can’t tell me when Hugh Jackman says…well anything, that you don’t melt.

3. British/Wales – Yes I know, I know. Different but the same. This might be the one accent where someone could say something a little randy and no one would take offense. Hugh Grant, Daniel Craig, and Christian Bale come to mind.

4. Spanish – This accent comes out sounding like a song, so who better to represent than Enrique Iglesias.

5. Southern – Now this is tricky because in general this accent makes my ears bleed a little. To have this one be catchy it has to be subtle, giving only the slightest hint. Listen to George Eads (aka Nick Stokes) on CSI and you’ll know what I mean.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Know What You Said But Don’t Stop Talking!!

  1. I know exactly what you’re talking about… the British, Australian/NZ, and Scottish/Irish accents turn me into a bumbling idiot. The guy could be a complete dolt but if he’s got an accent, I can’t seem to help myself.

  2. British and Southern accents (in women) do it for me. On the flip side, sorry southern guys I’m sure you are very smart, but your accent doesn’t help.

  3. That’s why the southern accent has to be very subtle. Anything above that and all I can see is a mullet, wifebeater tank, and rusty metal in the front of their trailor.

  4. Oh and I almost forgot, I’m also a sucker for “smoky” voices. Think Demi Moore. This also has to be subtle. And I don’t ACTUALLY want her to be a smoker. That’s a big turn-off.

Leave a Reply

