I’m a Mutt

I took a quiz asking me what kind of American English I speak.  These are my results:

60% General American English

10% Dixie

10% Upper Midwestern

10% Yankee

5% Midwestern

Interesting.  First of all I’m missing 5%.  Not sure what that’s supposed to mean.  Here’s a look into my background.  I was born in Massachusetts (though I don’t remember living there at all), grew up in Arkansas (sorry guys no genuine southern accent here, though it can be realistically faked if needed…but I can’t think of time when it would be), currently living in Utah, and I have lived in Idaho, Hawaii, Mexico, and Guatemala.  No wonder I’m all over the board!

Check out what your linguistic profile is at : http://www.blogthings.com/whatkindofamericanenglishdoyouspeakquiz

6 thoughts on “I’m a Mutt

  1. 80% General American English

    5% Dixie

    5% Midwestern

    5% Upper Midwestern

    0% Yankee

    Born in the Michigan and have lived in Virginia for 14 years

  2. Interesting, took the test, results:

    40% General American English
    30% Yankee
    15% Dixie
    5% Midwestern
    5% Upper Midwestern

    I’m not really sure where the Dixie comes into play, but nevertheless, it’s there. I guess people understand what I say and that’s important.

    I would be interested to see where the rest of our clan are placed.

  3. morethananelectrician: I’m impressed with the 80% general American English. A lot of my friends that grew up or live in the Central/Midwestern states scored high on that. Interesting.

    Mom: your results are weird. I wouldn’t have thought your Yankee would be that high seeing how you grew up in Utah and only lived back east for a few years. I’m not that surprised about the Dixie but overall – wow!

  4. Don’t be impressed. All of us from the Midwest don’t get our own category for anything. This is just another example of “Midwest Bias”!

  5. 50% General American English

    30% Yankee

    10% Dixie

    5% Upper Midwestern

    0% Midwestern

    😮 lool .. im from UK BTW 😀 Yankee loool!

Leave a Reply

