A Week of Books

I’ve been trying to think of what to write about this week but it was so incredibly borring and slow that I managed to read 5 books and do nothing else.  Which is actually a good thing because I’m going to see how many books I read this year.  My goal is at least 50 (about one a week) but at this rate I may have to increase the number.  Anyway, these are the books I read this week and what I thought of them:

1.  The Memory Keeper’s Daughter:  I really liked this book.  I’m kind of drawn to books where the characters are flawed but basically good people.  Where their decision may not have been the best and they struggle throughout the book with it.  Simply this is a story about a young doctor whose wife has twins, only one was born with Down’s Syndrome.  In a split decision he gives the Down’s Syndrome baby to the nurse and tells her to put the child in a facility and then he tells his wife that she (the baby) died thinking this would be easier for his wife to deal with.  The nurse ends up leaving and raising the little girl as her own.  So throughout the book you’re reading about how each character’s life was affected by this decision.

2.  The Book of the Dead:  If you like forensics and case solving then you should read books by Patricia Cromwell.  This is the second book of hers that I’ve read and enjoyed.  At times, her writing style makes it difficult to follow along and understand what you’re reading b/c she has so many little side plots going on at the same time.  But in the end everything weaves together and makes sense.  So if you can stomach some of the gruesome descriptions she gives, you might like this.  It’s about a serial killer.  Enough said.

3-5.  Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse:  These books are fabulous if you’re a 14 year old girl in Jr. High… I am not.  I think what bothered me the most is that I kept wanting to know what was going to happen to the characters even though I thought the books were lame.  For some reason I felt compelled to finish reading them, though many times I found myself muttering that I couldn’t believe I really was.  I think what really got me through them was that I pictured the lead vampire looking like Ryan Phillippe.  These books are about a girl who moves to this little town and ends up falling in love with a vampire.  The first two chapters of the first book are pretty good but as soon as actual dialogue begins between the girl and the vampire, the story goes downhill.  For the life of me I could not understand why all these vampires and werewolves were going to battle to protect her.  Let her die I say.  I was so frustrated and fed up with her that half way through the last book I called her stupid and an idiot.  Outloud.  Ok, so I didn’t so much call her that… as I YELLED it!  I know, get a grip it’s just a book.  But I read all three in 2 1/2 days and I felt that after investing my time she could at least grow up some.  It doesn’t happen.

So, after all this reading about vampires, werewolves, serial killers, death, lies, deceit, and tragedy you can image what kind of freaky dreams I’ve been having.  I think I’ll try to find a comedy next.

6 thoughts on “A Week of Books

  1. Good for you! Reading for me has been limited to our Homeschool curriculum for the kids. My son and I are trying to read a Harry Potter book together aloud back and forth to each other.

    Reading is one of the things I miss about my pre-children days. A magazine article is about all I get the time for these days before I am interrupted.

  2. My big beef w/ the Twighlight series was that she was a 17 year-old weakling and every single man in town was in love with her. uhuh. That’s how it works… make every man save you and they love you. She’s willing to throw her life away for one guy. Ahhh… I remember being that stupid. I hope it makes you feel better to know that the author of the Twighlight series is writing more books… these from the vampire’s and werewolve’s POV.

    Try reading Eat, Pray, Love… excellent!

  3. morethananelectrician: I’ve read the Potter books (except this last one. I’m cheap and waiting for the library to have it) and i really liked them. I used to read with my dad every night growing up and our favorite books were the Freddy the Pig series. LOVED them and still find them fun to read!

    Pam: yeah that really bugged me about her as well. I actually started to sort of like Edward and hate Jacob by the end. And even now I’m finding myself still thinking about the stupid story as though it had really happened. Eat, Pray, Love is the next book I’m reading. I just went to the library and picked up another one dad suggested but it’s in the car and I can’t remember what it’s called.

  4. I liked The Memory Keeper’s Daughter too…though I found myself wanting to beat the physician/father several times throughout the book for many reasons.

    I liked Patricia Cornwell’s early Scarpetta novels a lot, but they seemed to fall apart somewhere along the way. It was as though she got bored with Scarpetta and forced herself to continue writing about her to pay the bills. (Am now feeling the need to re-read the good ones.)

  5. Yeah I definitely did not agree with the father’s decision but couldn’t help but feel bad for him throughout the remainder of the book. His wife really started to get on my nerves.

    The only other Cornwell book I read was The Body Farm and I remember liking it more than this one. It was written earlier (I think) so maybe you’re right. I’ll have to get a hold of her earlier books and start from there.

  6. Pingback: More Books « Nandango

Leave a Reply

