Peripatetic Nomads

“Peripatetic nomads” are mobile populations moving among settled populations offering a craft or trade.”  And right next to this definition should be a picture of me because I’m pretty sure this is what I am.  Granted wikipedia says these people are generally either gypsies or traveling showmen like circus performers.  Ok, so I’m not a gypsy or a carnie but even still I could be a more modern day version of this, someone moving to settle populations offering my skills in exchange for work or to perform services (and no, not those kinds of services).  Since I graduated from high school 12 years ago I’ve moved back and forth between 21 cities/towns.  That’s not including moves into different apartments within the same town.  Though maybe one of those shouldn’t really count because although technically it was a different city it was only 15 min away.  And yes some of those towns are repeats but months or in some cases years, separated the time in between.  The point being that I had to pack everything up and move it, only to pack it all up and move it again later.  This last stint in Utah really slowed me down.  I was there four years which is by far the longest I’ve lived anywhere since high school.  The next longest was one full consecutive year in Hawaii.  Every other place less than a year.

I bring this up because every day it looks more and more likely that my time in Arizona is coming to an end.  I’ve been here for four months and haven’t been able to find work. I’ve been unemployed for six and while I may be great at budgeting, there comes a point when that doesn’t matter.  No money means no money.  And as I’ve been going over all my options and seeing this move as a real possibility, I’ve started getting that restless feeling and slight adrenaline at the prospect of packing and starting over again.  How I was corralled for so long in Utah at one time is a bit of a mystery I suppose.

I haven’t made any decisions one way or another, just trying to look ahead and be prepared for anything.  There’s still a real posibility and chance that I could get a job and stay put here.  Or not.  It’s like a coin toss and I’m just watching it rotate in the air not knowing what side will land on top.  And that’s kind of exciting, slightly stressful, but mostly exciting.

12 thoughts on “Peripatetic Nomads

  1. First, I applaud your positive attitude. Mine, with my recent disastrous move across the country, is not.

    Second, I’m so sorry you haven’t been able to find work. You have no idea how much this breaks my heart.

    Finally, Uncle Cliff (Grandma J’s older bro) ran away from home when he was 14 and joined the circus. So I guess it runs in our blood to be nomads. Remember: I’ve moved 50 billion times too.

    First, I think you just had a rough moving in period. As I pointed out on the phone there are a lot of things going well for you right now.
    Second, thanks for sympathy. But go ahead and pull out the glue because my heart’s not broken and yours shouldn’t be either. The situation just is what it is.
    And finally, you’re right. It’s entirely possible that I somehow am part carnie. haha

  2. Suerte hermanita – you’ve always got a room in Chucktown although I know you’ll never take it! lol (it’s still here though!)

    I think saying I lived in Charleston for a while would be fun. It’s the actual living there that I would get bored with. But then again, you just never know.

  3. My recent move reminded me just how much I do not like moving. Hats off to you for handling 21 moves in 12 years (and potentially one more)!

    Well I imagine my moves aren’t on the same scale yours must have been. I’m just moving myself and have tried to keep possessions to a minimum. I can’t imagine I would have moved so much if I had a family and a full house to pack up. Kudos to you!

  4. No job yet? What are all those Arizonians thinking by not hiring you? Seriously people. This girl’s great…you NEED her to work for you. I’ll have to give my fellow home staters a little talking to. But, in the mean time, keep up that positive attitude. Have a negative one will get you nowhere. Let me know what you decide!

    Exactly! I am great! haha I’ll definitely keep you posted on what happens. I haven’t officially made up my mind yet as to whether or not I move. I guess there’s still a little time for a job to come my way and keep me here.

  5. Well I wish you all the best of luck. I’m kind of in the same boat. After my recent layoff it’s been next to impossible to find anything. I was actually hired to a GREAT position shortly after that, but later that week it was eliminated completely and they decided to start laying off people instead, so I never even got to go to my first day of work. I’ve given some serious thought to just up and moving in a couple of years after I go back to school and get some certified in some software. I dunno. I’ve got some family and friends here that I would really miss but I’ve always wanted to pull up roots and move somewhere where no one knows me and I can start over. I’d love that, actually. So I know what you mean about the thrill of it. Either way, once I’m sorted out education wise I can’t see myself living here long term. I’d die of boredom and heat if I had to live the rest of my life in SC.

    Thanks but it sounds like I should be wishing you the best of luck on your potential, future move. There’s of course pros and cons to moving somewhere and starting over. I love looking back and seeing that I could do it but in the moment sometimes it’s a bit taxing and little things like oh I don’t know, money, can stress you out. But it builds character. Or at least can provide some great stories for later down the road.

  6. Your sis may have come up with something…go to the nearest drving range nad pick up some golf balls (they are free there)…teach yourself to juggle and hook up witht eh circus. MAy you could be the girl with the contorted face…just show them those skillz.

    Your attitude is really amazing. I have started doing stand-up, but it is jsut a hobby…the thought of having to start over again in a new city is a daunting task. Hang in there.

    Now that you mention it, there is a driving range down the street from my apartment. Maybe I’ll head over there in just a bit.

  7. Spokane is a nice place to live, and if I remember correctly, you’ve never lived there. I’m just saying… :)
    And if I remember correctly, it gets pretty cold there. I’m just saying…

  8. “What’s the most you ever lost in a coin toss?” said the Ultimate Badass (Anton) in No Country for Old Men. Thought of that scene, regarding your housing/work predicament. I wish you a great job, ASAP.

    Thanks! I hope something comes up soon as well.

  9. I’ve been getting a bit of a moving itch myself…
    Which is scary, becuase we BOUGHT our house. Not like I cna just get up and leave right now.

    …and strangely, there IS carnie blood in my family.
    Maybe the Summer just stirs it around.

    Ouch! Yeah that’s the good thing about not owning my own place, I can get up and leave whenever. Really, a carnie in the family? Sounds like it could be a good story.

  10. hahaha!
    love your post :)
    stumbled upon this one while browsing and i must say i can relate to every word! :)
    me and my family also seems to have peripatetic nomadic instincts ;)
    last 8 years after being married we also have travelled along with young kids to 5 diff cities… and after an year or so at one place we start getting uneasy and want to have some change in location!

    Thanks for stopping by! I don’t know why I get restless but I’m glad to know I’m not the only one.

  11. Pingback: A Nomadic Life? « Exploration « Life One Way

Leave a Reply

